One can just guess why Mr. Obama picked Kehinde Wiley to paint his portrait

in #obama7 years ago (edited)

Maybe some other of his paintings will help us to answer this question.


Officer Of The Hussars


Judith beheading Holofernes


Portrait of Barrack Obama, see hi-res version here

Any idea so far? For sure no one will question the painter's talent which is as clear as his position towards Caucasian population. Mr. Obama obviously has no problem with that. It's good to know at least where he stands.

Mr. Obama said he picked Wiley because "he is different". Well, that's diplomatically said. Here he adds:

What I was always strucked by whenever I have seen his portraits is the degree to which they challenged conventional views of power and privilege.
-- Barrack Hussein Obama

And I can add that Wiley's paintings are often modifications of well known arts depicting some historical context modified to send some racial message which can be quite obvious from the paintings above, like black person in power position (it might be not the best expression for beheading) over "a bad" white person (even in case historical context or the original painting doesn't imply any racial context and that is quite alarming). To be correct I must to add that many (if not most) of Wiley's paintings are more or less neutral and don't express such an hostile stance but that doesn't explain why some definitely do.

Personally, I'm quite glad that Mr. Obama showed us some his colors and preferences.

And if you are shocked, don't worry - as @felix.herrmann mentioned - #itsokaytobewhite yet :)

Resources

There are more details uncovering even some really disgusting facts related to this topic not included in my article. Feel free to discover more:

Sort:  

important topic, resteem.

What do yout hink about the hashtag: #itisokaytobewhite . Legit potical claim?

Heh, you right man, however in these perilous times some leftists might be still insulted seeing such a hashtag. But who cares, they can be obviously insulted by anything.

That depends a lot on who is saying the allegedly offensive words ;)

A week ago I stumbled upon a CNN's video where Cooper calls Fox News' executive editor a racist for his article (that Fox News removed, although I've read an archived version). To me Moody's feuilleton wasn't racist at all, quite the contrary, but unsurprisingly most of commentators under CNN were keeping Cooper's side. I made a blog post about it. I hope that's of some interest and I'd apprecieate any comments. Thanks!

The Obama's portrait surely stands out. Must look funny accompanied by traditional portraits of other presidents.

As of the guy on the horse, surely my country was multicultural back then, but a dark-skinned Hussar is something new to me 😜
That "Officer Of The Hussars" painting reminded me of what I remembered as a depiction of king John III Sobieski.

I think I had in mind the picture above, although it depicts king's son - Sebastian Sobieski, the Grand Standard Bearer of the Polish Crown.

Doesn't look much like the Wiley's painting (except for panther leather on both), but depiction of king John from 1686...

...and especially contemporary one I've just stumbled upon (https://www.touchofart.eu/Marek-Kubski/mku62-Jan-III-Sobieski-pod-Wiedniem/)

...do. I gotta say sabre on Wiley's look much better and more Hussar-like than the sword above.

What's the message? We wuz kangs or something? THAT'S A CULTURAL APPROPRIATION AND I AM DEEPLY OFFENDED!!!

Just joking, although I find the resemblance quite interesting.

obama, another satanic criminal on his way to hell. Disgusting.

This post has received a 0.53 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @jimmco.

https://steemit.com/obama/@flynnl1ve5/take-down-the-black-queen-and-the-false-witness-qanon I AM TAKING ON THE QUEEN AND THE POPE TO SAVE THE CHILDREN PLEASE HELP FOR GOD AND COUNTRY. PEACE IN GODS LOVE.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76