Final day of 2017.....

in #oakland7 years ago

As 2017 comes to a close, I'd like to look back throughout the year and reflect on the things that happened in my life. Where to begin....

My trusty 1995 Geo Prism, which I purchased for $1000 (USD) 4 years earlier, finally took a crap for the last time. It was a real trooper of a car, averaging 33mpg and generally very reliable. For those that are not familiar with that car, it is essentially a Toyota Corolla, with a different trunk lid. All the parts were Japanese made, but assembled in the San Francisco Bay Area, therefore it was less expensive than a Toyota with all the benefits. I upgraded to a 2001 Honda Civiv DX (base model) which is getting 38.6mpg. Basically, it runs off the fumes of an oily rag. I love it.

Honda Ciciv.jpg

My job at a San Francisco start up company (of 4 years) came to an end. Truth be told, I was thrilled about it. Working for a start up company can be fun, but as soon as the fun wears off and the company decides it's time to be a grown up corporation, that all goes away. I'm now hoping to be self employed.

corporate-bullshit.jpg

I moved away from Oakland, California (pop a cap) with my wife and 2 cats to the tree filled South Sound Peninsula area. Now we have a puppy and several acres to do with as we please, not to mention that the rent and cost of living is noticeably less expensive.

Pop a cap, pop pop.jpg

So, I'm off to the store to pick up cat litter and cat food. Yay for cats, because they keep you busy and are super cuddly.

cat-playing-guitar.jpg

That's all for now. Happy new year everybody!

Sort:  

The first formal cat show was held in England in 1871; in America, in 1895.

I did not know that. I'm a little surprised that it didn't happen earlier.

The life expectancy of cats has nearly doubled over the last fifty years.

That's awesome. One of my puddies is 18 years old and still a furry ball of fury!

Phoenician cargo ships are thought to have brought the first domesticated cats to Europe in about 900 BC.

I lived on a boat with my cat a few years back. He was not extremely happy about it. I think he must be a land lover...

Since cats are so good at hiding illness, even a single instance of a symptom should be taken very seriously.

One of my cats (Felix) loves to lounge in cardboard boxes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55838.64
ETH 2285.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33