I was a victim of the Oakland Ghost Ship Fire

in #oakland7 years ago (edited)

I had just got back to the town the night before it happened. I didn't really have many plans this night other than smoking cigarettes and sharing drinks with a few old faces. I was told about a party/house show at the Ghost Ship and that place has always been weary to me. I had never witnessed that many people gather there at one time. My intuition made it feel really unsafe. I left before any of the flames broke, however I lost a handful of friends and acquaintances. Derick Almena is facing years in prison for his lack of accountability for Oakland's deadliest fire in history. My current issue with this is the fact that purposeful landlord arson has been rampant for ages and to my knowledge nobody else has ever had to face consequence.
Oakland is guilty. Throw the book at the city of Oakland. For neglecting artist and not providing affordable sustainable homes for artist and anyone living here. I'm just saying. Don't just take Derrick out. Needs to be a domino effect of justice. Impeach Libby also!
Ghost_Ship_warehouse_.jpg
http://heavy.com/news/2017/06/derick-almena-ghost-ship-update-fire-wife/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44