Thinking, Drinking (coffee)

in #nyc7 years ago

coffeecup1.jpegbagel1.jpegtaxi1.jpeg

What could be more New York than a cup of coffee, a bagel and a yellow cab ride?

I'll tell you: Sitting in a Brazilian cafe for an early afternoon snack. Grabbing a "dirty water" hot dog on your way to Central Park. Going out for a sushi supper around 5 pm. Having cold, leftover pizza as a midnight snack. Slipping in 6 hours sleep between 1am and 7am (the city doesn't sleep, its people do). Waking up at 7 am to start over with a bagel with cream cheese and lox, a hot coffee and good conversation with a cab driver from Bangladesh.

New York City will always be an international capital. A patchwork of the globe. I have long taken for granted the cultures that envelop me as a man born, raised and rooted in New York. I have spent years saying if you are from New York and can make it anywhere, why make it hard on yourself? Yet, the more I venture out into the world, I cannot find satisfaction in living in a smaller, quieter place.

My frustration is all too common. And to grind out life in a frenetic environment that often goes against my inner peace and patience is to be an anomaly. A unique bit of a most unique place. An eye of the storm.

I am fascinated by Mick Jagger's fetish for the frenzied place that is New York City. A titan of music and founder of a culture and style all his own, he has seen the globe. He has changed the world. And there is no other place like the city I call home. It may lead to bouts of grandeur on my part, but I also take pride in trying to stand out among all the standouts known as New Yorkers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55