You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Know your nuts and distinguish them from your seeds!

in #nuts4 years ago

Afraid of beans? Great video, would be a good one to show students.
I started to think the walnut is just a nut, but not so, it has that green squishy cover that makes the brown/black ink for hair while rotting on the ground or in a bucket and that made me think the chestnut is the same with the spiky orb it comes in...?
Nothing worse than biting into a rotten peanut, but I still do spread peanut butter on my English muffin.
As children, we used to gather butter nuts at the park as well as black walnuts at my Grandmother's and pine nuts once a year in Eureka. We'd fill king sized black garbage bags and roast the cones in the oven. I think of all these, the butter nuts were the best--very rich and oily, oblong, but much like a greasy, mild walnut.

Sort:  

Nuts are enough to drive you nuts, I know! but be mindful that you don't also mix up the nuts that are nuts: I hope the chestnut you are thinking of (prickly = sweet; spiked=horse) is the edible (sweet) nut you can roast romantically in roasters on the stoves the urchins in Victorian days liked to warm their hands and naked toes by.

I once wrote to a honey company to complain about the horse chestnut picture on the label of their (sweet, god willing!) chestnut honey pot. Talk about misleading the customer (or poisoning them, god-not-willing!) and/or knowing (loving?!Ha!) the product you (love to... ha, ha) sell..... sigh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69020.66
ETH 3731.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65