the KAKI moment.

in #nutrition7 years ago

Do you know what a kaki is?

In this part of the world it sells under this name, in other parts of the world it's called a persimmon. Hell, I even seen it labeled as "Sharon" around here! Who would want to eat a Sharon?!
In essence is a type of plum, a Japanese plum that is absolutely delicious. I think so now but first time I was a little underwhelmed by its blandness. Turns out, it just wasn't as ripe as it should.

I love introducing people to new foods whatever they are: fruits, weird recipes, beers, even places where they make some special food ( think Thai Ice Cream or Korean bbq!). I think that finding something new and awesome brings a lot to one's life. Buuuuut, people are mostly not impressed. Damn, it's hard to impress anyone these days!
"Yeah, it's ok..."
"It's good!" [ proceeds to never buy it on their own ever again]
GRR, this grinds my gears. But what can I do? Experiment, discover, share. One day, someone will love my discoveries
[ Looking at you KIMCHI!!! Why is everyone so disgusted by kimchi?! I wonder if this is because it's alive, it ferments, rots, choke full of bacteria, spiciness and cabbage. Also it stinks. OH well, you're not making this easy are you, KIMCHI?! ]

Back to this kaki fruit, I heard of it and tasted once or twice with no lasting impression on me, until I got a perfectly riped one. I remember that first bite, because...believe it or not.. I had a revelation. As the sweet juice made sweet love with my taste buds, pleasure centers exploded in my head and I had a vision of all things that life has to offer that we're missing out. I felt sad for a microsecond as to how much we're not experimenting, and never will...but also that there's so much to life to grab and enjoy. I felt a thirst of life, a will to live, a push to be present that I rarely felt so intense in my life before.
That is The KAKI moment.

I look back on that moment a lot, desperately trying to keep it present in my awareness. It helps that every time I buy the fruit, I think of it. I am yet to eat another kaki like that one but I will always be grateful for what it gave me and I'm always, always buying kakis for people who never tried it.

Maybe one day, someone will have a kaki moment and feel a small change to the better in their life.
( And if not, do you want some kimchi?! )

Sort:  

I have kaki moments without kaki.
Actually I caacccccnnot wait until the late fall when these fruits are available! :)
One of my favorites.

I love these! They are so sweet and tasty :D

kaki is one of my favorite fruits.
You have to eat the once which are a bit older, not the hard ones. It is brilliant, it tastes to sweet and awesome

i heard that in asia there are many cool varieties...here, just this one pictured here!

I only know the JP ones

Discovered it in Andalucia, never heard about it before. Like the chirimoya.

wow. chrimoya is such a beautiful name!! now i want one!!

First time I heard this name 'Kaki'.

I love kakis! In Cambodia they seem to be in season year-round, but they are not as sweet as the ones we had in Belgium!

oh man!! how's cambodia these days?! haven't spoken to menta in months!

Very hot.. Waiting for the rainy season... @menta is good! He hasn't been on steam it much as they are quite busy building a new technology and blockchain! If you are interested you can follow their progress here: https://www.peerity.io/ How are you guys doing?

I had this about 3 years ago - but never found it again.
It is very nice!

Yes, tasty! Fairly consumed in Brazil!

Kaki are so freaking good. My kaki moment for me was the first time I tasted a mango. I'll remember it all my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81