You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Steemians Should Choose Grass-Fed Beef

in #nutrition8 years ago

It was more of an advertising thing, from what little I understand. Products sold better if they had "0% Fat!" on the label because some people we're confused about healthy fats. I'd have to ask @corinnestokes for more details, but from what I remember reading, the cultural idea that fats were unhealthy did spread to a number of people (which is why advertisers responded as they did, to get that purchasing power) which, ultimately, hurt people's health. It also relates to the cholesterol discussion which pushed out healthly fats as well. This isn't my area of understanding, so I'm worse than an armchair quarter back here.

Sort:  

Gotcha. Ya, I'm pretty sure whole milk is better for you than skim (I don't drink either anymore), but through marketing people have it in their head that skim is better.

I'm always skeptical of like "reduced fat" potato chips. I just won't eat potato chips if I'm concerned about fat today, lol. It seems like there has to be some tradeoff of making things more artificial.. I'd rather take the fat and keep it closer to the whole food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61