“IF DIETS WORKED, FAT PEOPLE WOULDN’T EXIST”

in #nutrition8 years ago

 

There is a ton of conflicting information on the web regarding nutrition. Some nutritionist would say that people who are lifting weights and are very active need to carb load. Some nutritionist, with the same certification as the prior, would say that people need to cut carbs all together for optimal nutrition. I will not sit here and discredit all of the hours of research that each nutritionist does. I will say that there is a simple starting block to nutrition that most people can apply to their lives see satisfying results. At the end of this post I will list out some simple tips to help you get started.

I used to work in a sports performance complex. It was my first job and I was stoked about it. I had spent tons of time (and money) to get all of the proper certification to get my start in the fitness industry. One thing that i started to hear my supervisor a lot was “If diets worked, fat people wouldn’t exist.” At first, this statement confused me. All I had heard about weight loss and nutrition revolved around the concept of dieting. As my knowledge about fitness and nutrition grew, so did my understanding of this statement. I will break it down for you a little further. 


1) SHORT CUT DIETING DOESN’T EXIST

People want results and they want them now. This is no secret to you and it certainly is no secret to the fitness industry. Thats why products get marketed as “Eat whatever you want and lose 20 lbs in 30 days!” It is a lot easier to go for the quick fix than to go for what works. Sure a person may lose an astounding amount of weight at first. Here is a statistic for you though.

95% of diets fail and most will regain their lost weight in 1-5 years. That is because only 5% of diets actually provide valid nutrition advice

Simple eating habit adjustments are much more affective than the quick fix dieting


2) EAT TO FUEL THE BODY, NOT THE STOMACH

The purpose of human beings having the ability to consume food and convert it into energy has never been and will never be to eat till we are so full that we have to pass out on the couch. If you are killing it at the gym and are not seeing the results you are expecting, evaluate if you are a slave to your hunger or if your diet is a slave to you.


10 TIPS TO GET STARTED

Cut back on the sugar.
Eat grilled chicken instead of fried chicken
Get grilled vegetables as a side at restaurants instead of fries
Don’t be scared of fruits and vegetables as snacks
NO ARTIFICIAL SWEETENERS
NO ARTIFICIAL SWEETENERS
Watch portion sizes
Watch your carb intake. Recommended amount varies based on activity level
Drink water all the time. You will pee a lot. This is a good thing
chill out on the high sugar, high calorie drinks. 

Sort:  

Im loving your article , Ive been now given the kick up the butt i need to get into shape. Lets hope the rationing in the Uk dont hinder my fruit intake . Thanks

I am always happy to help, thank you for your support)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55