Some Ugly Truths About the FLOUR You Find In Your Supermarket

You would think that with a name like "whole wheat" that it would contain all of the wheat. However, this is far from the truth.

You probably also think that white flour while it is not really good for you, it is also not really bad for you. However, this is far from the truth.

The FDA, the govern-cement agency that is supposed to be looking out for our health, To protect us from poisons, and to make sure foods are labelled correct, has failed in their mission.

As an example, most wheat flour, sold in The US, cannot be sold in European countries. And, if you read the ingredients list, you would never know why.

White Flour is Bad

White flour...

Did you know that when they started to mass produce white flour, people actually started falling down?

The creation of the steel roller mills, allowed flour milling companies to easily separate the parts of the wheat. So, for the first time, people were easily able to get lots of white flour. People who had switched to the wonderfully fluffy white flour bread would just collapse. This is because white flour has no nutrition in it. It is just empty calories. When they figured this out, they added some of the nutrition back into white flour. This is why at the store, you see "enriched" white flour. Niacin, Iron, Thiamin and Riboflavin are added to the flour so that it has at least a modicum of nutrition. (These, and more, were removed by the new milling processes)

Bleached???

On the supermarket shelves you will find white flour and unbleached white flour. Does chlorine dioxide appear on the ingredients list? Nope, but the bag usually says "Bleached" in small print somewhere. And yes, they took that bottle of Chlorox® and doused your flour in it. There are reasons for this, such as ageing the flour in a day instead of months, and having that white white flour, so you can make that white, white cake. However, I do not feel that chlorine is a good food ingredient. And The US supreme court agreed with me... but that got end-runned by executive orders.

Whole wheat Flour???

And now onto the horrors of whole wheat...
Whole wheat flour is not the entire wheat. It is actually white flour with a bit of the germ and some of the bran put back into it (usually less than half). It is missing much of what makes wheat a nutritious food.

I imagine that you feel betrayed, in what you thought was whole (the entire) wheat, is really just colored white flour.

A big thing it is missing is the wheat germ oil. Which was taken out, so that the flour would not go rancid sitting on the supermarket shelf. However the wheat germ oil is essential for balancing out the gluten proteins. (as they are only a partial protein)

For more information
http://eap.mcgill.ca/publications/EAP35.htm

- - - - - - -

All images in this post are my own original creations.

Sort:  

Thank you! Never thought this is something I should bother about..

Thank you for reading.

Yes, this is all well and good, but here's my question; I recently discovered, through a steemit article, that you can now buy chocolate powder in the U.S that you can snort. They already have it in Europe because in Europe they are chic and in America we read chic and think baby chicken. So my question is, which kind of flour is best for those with gluten allergies... You know, so you can snort it. ...Seriously, this is good information, and I sincerely thank you for posting it. I will be looking into this further. It's also depressing because I just ate four homemade sugar cookies. If you're mom made them with the special ingredient of love, does that cancel out the stuff that's going to kill me?

Your body is amazingly recuperative. It will get by on almost anything. But it does better on good foods.
Home made is so much better, even if made with the same flour.

I use fresh ground flour. Ground with a wheat grinder just before I do baking.
Gluten intolerance comes from too much of a build up of one half of a protein while not getting enough of the other half of the protein.

Not only does McDs use white flour, they also add extra gluten into it. So, you body gets a double whammy.
There are ways of making bread (the OLD way) that does not cause gluten intolerance. I will do a post on it.

Have you ever come across a brand of bread called "Dave's Bread" in the supermarket? I buy that bread even though it's pricey because it tastes great and purports to be all-natural and healthy with no added sugar. I still wonder though, because so often in life I've bought something thinking it's healthy only to find out later I was duped. Know anything about it? is it a good choice health wise?

Dave's "Killer" Bread is better than most supermarket breads.
And so, I would buy that, if I bought bread.

I will do a post about how I grind wheat and make bread.
Since I am a grainarian, my breads are where I get most of my nutrition from.

I recommend you eat as best as you can within the constraints of your time and money.

To make matters worse wheat is sprayed with glyphosate before harvest to help speed up the drying of the crop. A monsanto scam delt to farmers has now been proven to be toxic.
See it here at Natural News. http://www.naturalnews.com/2017-06-26-california-declares-glyphosate-weed-killer-roundup-to-be-a-cancer-causing-poison.html

Yes, the spray round up on wheat crops so that all the wheat plants dry up at the same time (turn golden). So that they don't gum up the combine harvester.
I believe they even spray supposed organic wheat here in The US.

Vivimos en una burbuja de mentiras, creadas por unos pocos solo para enriquecerse más y más, esperamos se revele todo pronto y abramos los ojos.

Si, vivimos en una burbuja de mentiras.
That is why I write what I do, to expose the lies.
Sorry, I am not very good with Spanish.

Ok friend, I like your post, I'll see you guys very often, thanks for everything

Is this from the US?

Lucky for us, at least in Finland the whole wheat flour is actually whole wheat. In some flours they add ascorbic acid but it is mentioned in the flour package and you can find plenty of flours without it.

Yes, this is from The US.
I really need to start writing with a more worldly outlook

It's fine, it's typically recognizable.. or at least "Hey this is not from my country".

I just wanted to be 100% sure it's not from UK or somewhere else :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94