You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Steemians Should Choose Grass-Fed Beef

in #nutrition8 years ago

Thanks for your thoughts. I believe there is actually a lot land that is currently being used to grow grains (corn, wheat, soy, etc.) that could be turned into pastures to raise healthy animals. Regarding the idea of eating animals, evolution shaped that one. Look at where eyes on a human being sit... on the front of the head, not the side, such as in the case of a zebra or cow. Humans are predators, not prey animals. However, I believe in the future we will be able to bypass these innate processes with cultured meat. I am part of an organization that is carrying out research on stem cells and their applications to growing meat in a lab. It is only a matter of time before this science goes mainstream.

Sort:  

That's great.. I don't even care to be right about what's healthy and whatnot.. lab creation seems like a win-win that will do so much good for the planet and the animals, good luck with it.

I think the problem with the evolution argument is that we can always we evolve things that later on we don't need anymore. (The appendix would be a lame example.) In certain environments it was an advantage to hunt animals, but that doesn't mean it's best for us now in this environment.

If nothing else I'd try to keep the meat to a lower amount. My feeling is that through evolution we never ate it in abundance, cause food is scarce. Nowadays with everything at our fingertips we're only recently consuming animals products in abundance, and I think it has a lot to do with all the disease.

Without government subsidies to the meat and dairy industry the price would be much higher and people would naturally not eat meat so often .. so I mean, if they want you to do it I feel like it's a good rule of thumb not to do it lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3398.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50