A boob is just a boob

in #nursingmother8 years ago

DSC02037.JPG

Hey you!

I can see you sitting there with your baby feeding it from your breast. How dare you do that in a public place? Do you know that is disgusting? You need to leave.

Those are just some of the things a nursing mom hears about feeding her child. Just imagine walking up to a mother giving her baby a bottle and saying those things. Oh the blasting we would get. Well I have thoughts about it.

If we were to go back in society and remember before there was formula. Yes that is right before formula. No one actually cared at that time how a baby was fed as long as the baby was fed. A breast was not a concern at that time as it had a purpose. And that purpose was nourishment not a symbol of just sex.

A well nourished baby is a happy baby. The issue with how society sees a nursing mom is that it is disgusting. Shamming a mother for wanting to feed her baby which there are not always rooms available to go feed your child in. For example Airports have a family room for you to change your child's diaper and have a little nursing time with your young one. There are times in those airports that a worker will have a cigarette in that room. Truly appalling to know that people do this. I know of this as it just happened to me one week ago. Not only did it make my child irate and hard to deal with due to not nursing in public because of the shamming I get, it took the only thing that is a comfort to him at night before he goes to sleep away. This is mommy and baby snuggle time.

The benefits of breast milk are far better for your child. I as a mother should be able to feed my child on a bench at that busy park without being scolded over it. I am my child's mother and I have a right to choose how I take care of them. Just because it does not look like a bottle does not mean it is not milk.

Society needs to accept that a boob is a boob and there was a purpose for that boob before it became this sexualized thing that no one should ever see.

Sort:  

I find it really depressing that this is still an issue, I was standing my ground refusing to feed my daughter in a bathroom 11 years ago. Just do what you feel is right for your child. unfortunately no matter what a mother does there will be people judging and all to willing to give their unwanted opinions.

This is true. Being a mom is awesome and no one should take it away from us no matter what we do.

Nice @jeepchick
Shot you an Upvote :)

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 4.4 and reading ease of 89%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54