Thoughts of your Charge NursesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nursing6 years ago

Being a Charge Nurse is like being a parent.
Sometimes I come home from work feeling as if I have children, mostly because I spent the entirety of my shift parenting. Don’t get me wrong, I understand that as a charge nurse I have some responsibility to shepherd my charges, but we are all adults here, right? Let me share a few thoughts with you that are present in the mind of a “night shift parent”:

  1. Telling people what they can or can’t do.
    Scope of practice and hospital policies and procedures don’t always match up, and it’s a lot to keep up with, so why do it when your charge nurse can do it for you?
  2. Knowing where everything is at the drop of a hat.
    While I make it look easy, you were trained in the art of observation too.
  3. Mediating sibling arguments.
    Okay, so you are just work siblings but sometimes you fight as if you actually are related.
  4. Making sure everyone does their homework.
    If I have to double check your restraint orders to complete my paperwork, then you ought to have already looked at them. Also, why do they send me a message to make sure you get your CEU’s and recertifications done on time? Apparently someone thinks I have more power over you than the people who can withhold your paycheck.
  5. Making sure everyone eats dinner.
    It’s called time management, and if you don’t bring your own food, you at least have to pick the restaurant and I will make sure it gets here. Hangry nurses are whiney nurses.
  6. Making sure everyone gets home okay.
    Finish charting and go home, it’s a 24-hour facility. Whether it’s car trouble or someone forgetting to pick you up, if you need a ride home I also take tips as a limo driver.

All this, and you still don’t get out of cleaning up a lot of poop, even as charge nurse.

Sort:  

Correct me if I'm wrong, but by being in charge the fecal interactions could generally be avoided. Not altogether, but mostly that job falls back to the nurses on the floor. It is the exception - not the rule...
On the other hand - the headaches and grey hairs: oh yeah!!

Atleast here, Charge nurse still takes patients. they can pick their patients but still have atleast one most nights, sometimes more. Charge is not the same as house supervisor, just basically a unit shift leader.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32