[Nursing School meets Steemit][Nursing Process and QSEN: The Foundation for Safe and Effective Care] Follow along and educate yourself with me. Ch. #7

in #nursing7 years ago (edited)

Ready to learn some shit?

Hey guys! Hopefully you've been keeping up with my study sessions, and have found them of value. This chapter is pretty much covering the safety aspect of Psychiatric nursing care that QSEN puts in place. QSEN is an organization that sets the standards for what is expected out of Nurse. I'll give their definition below.

Book: Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing

Chapter 7 - Nursing Process and QSEN: The Foundation for Safe and Effective Care

  • Quality and Safety Education for Nurses(QSEN) - A national initiative centered on patient safety and quality of care.

  • Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act(HIPAA) - To ensure that an individual's health information is properly protected, while at the same time allowing health care providers to obtain personal health information for the purpose of providing and promoting high-quality health care.

  • Holistic approach to care - A view of the individual as a complex blend of many parts. (Psychological, social, cultural, environmental, functional, spiritual, ethnicity, sexual orientation, and age.)

The HEADSSS Psychosocial Interview Technique -for children- (Acronym)

  • H ome enviroment (e.g. relations with parents and siblings)
  • E ducation and employment (e.g. school performance)
  • A ctivities (e.g. sports participation, after-school activities, peer relations)
  • Drug, alcohol, and tobacco use
  • S exuality (e.g. whether the patient is sexually active, practices safe sex, uses contraception, or practices other alternative sexual lifestyles)
  • S uicide risk or symptoms of depression or other mental disorder
  • S avagery (e.g. violence or abuse in home environment or in neighborhood)
  • Outcomes criteria - The optimum goal outcomes that reflect the maximal level of patient health that can realistically be achieved through evidence-based nursing interventions.

Nursing Interventions Classification(NIC) - A research based standardized listing of 554 interventions that the nurse can use to plan care and reflect current clinical practice.

Nursing Outcomes Classification(NOC) - Includes a total of 490 standardized outcomes that provide a mechanism for communicating the effect of nursing interventions on the well-being of patients, families, and communities.

I'll be using NIC and NOC quite a bit. Pretty much for every patient that I have under my care.

The three structural components of a nursing diagnosis:

  1. The problem - The problem or unmet need describes the state of the patient at present. Problems that are within the nurse's domain to treat are termed nursing diagnoses. An example is self-mutilation.
  2. The etiology - The etiology includes factors that contribute to or are related to the development or maintenance of a nursing diagnosis title. The related factors tell us what needs to be done to effect change and identifies what needs to be targeted through nursing interventions. An example is self-mutilation to disturb body image.
  3. Defining characteristics (supporting data) - Supporting signs and symptoms are the "defining characteristics" that make up the patient's objective and measurable signs, plus the more subjective symptoms that reflect the patient's present situation. (may be linked to the diagnosis with the words as evidence by.)

Source


Hope ya learned something!!!

Here are some of my other medical posts, check them out and learn something:


Recommended content:

@matt-a, @robrigo, @kotturinn, @tommyinthesun, @modernnomad, @broester, @sid-the-kid, @madscientistx13, @cavalry , @pmill, @funkymunky20000, @joeysays, @amille

Sort:  

I was a cleric in a video game so I can just heal myself, thanks tho...

The reason I flagged this is: 1. My post was only up for 2 minutes when you commented and upvoted your comment. 2. You didn't upvote the post. 3. Didn't have enough time to even read it, but still left a comment.

It was a spam comment.....

Thanks... I saw you upvoted your post as well so I guess you know what I am going to do for that

Yeah, its actually okay to pay yourself, when you actually put some decent effort into something you created.

Are you a mod? I thought it was a clever comment... Not up to par for you I see. I hope you have better things to do than decipher if my comments are worth my own admiration....

It WAS a clever comment, but you made it obvious that it was some spam bullshit. Then you apparently get but hurt and try to make stabs at me when my point was valid. And then change one of your comments?

What do you mean but hurt? Are you making fun of my sexuality?

Definitely a dumbass. Haha That's not aware of figures of speech.......

If you keep degrading my post any further, and taking away from the value of the information presented I will continue to flag you. This post wasn't intended to be a joke!

I will also make sure it takes me longer to read.... To all my english teachers throughout the years I hate you. I hate you teachers for teaching me how to read. This guy is judging me because of you!

You don't want to start revenge flagging, when I had a VERY valid point.

I also know for sure that you definitely didn't read the post, write your comment and upvote it, in under 2 minutes. So you are clearly just being a dumbass.

I think you are amazing

That picture is labeled for reuse. I made sure of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57