Dream Invasion #1

in #ntopaz6 years ago (edited)

c06feccb61a8214ef27beaa63bf1d0474185d49f.jpg

This is a fractal I made some months ago in JWildFire, processed by the Deep Dream Generator. I used one style that is an amalgamation of several other styles, giving that weird organic feel to the final pic.

(C) by @nyarlathotep

Sort:  

Amazing work!

[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

one of the best! You are using Deep Dream to its fullest potential - combined with your fractals, its a new world!
resteeming, sharing, upvoting and all that jazz
https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/1099987454373838849

Heh :) I am glad you like it, I was kind-of expecting you to notice it, drawn by all the weird surreal elements! Thanks for keeping up your support.

Yeah, I really like the weird - and just love the colors.
Do you know one of my VAG members, Robert Steven Connett ? - I was thinking about him when I seen yours.
Update: I now went to your Deep Dream Page - and I had the right hunch: you used a painting of Robert for a style!
Another friend, Bernard Dumaine, had used Deep Dream but then he actually painted it in oils! That was early on when it first came out.

I had no idea! I found the picture available as a style in the Deep Dream page and I was amazed by its weird details and organic feel (it reminded me of Lovecraft's Elder Things from Mountains of Madness). Mr Connett is a great artist, I've gone through his gallery and all his work is fantastic, I love that unique weird feeling and all the details he puts in his art.
Now, I don't know if we are allowed to use one's work as a style in that site and publish the resulting dream, but I would love to use more of his paintings to experiment with fractals. It must be a great pairing.

Also, mr Dumaine had a glorious idea, to repaint the surreal results of deep dreaming and use them as parts of his paintings. I think they look much better when painted, than computer-generated.

It is also surprising to see how similar things tend to converge and meet each other in such an indirect & subtle way. And it is even more exciting when the convergence is discovered, like you did here.

idk, I would not worry too much about using some others styles - the one you used, they likely got it off Pinterest. I use some styles from other people too if I find them cool. And I don't mind if mine are used either. I had used some of my artwork to alter Photos, but also some of my paintings as styles for b/w drawings. Some work better than others.
A good source for some styles would be the Rijksmuseum - lots to pick from there, and they really don't mind, they even encourage it:
https://www.rijksmuseum.nl/en
I started collecting a few pieces there: https://www.rijksmuseum.nl/en/rijksstudio/2202190--otto-rapp/collections/mijn-eerste-verzameling
You can open your own account and collect stuff, All downloadable in high res.
What can you do in Rijksstudio

Wow, such a beautiful piece, @nyarlathotep ! The bubbling effect combined with those tendrils really makes me feel the long reaches of the Elder Gods into the dreamscape.... Love how the colours interact, as well, feels as if some dreams are golden and bright and others are cold and strange, and others yet, at the edges of our consciousness, are red and visceral....

Gorgeous piece <3

Yeah, this one came straight from the nightmares of the Great Old Ones :) Thank you for your insightful comment.

Lovely and surreal @nyarlathotep I love the layers and patterns in this one.

This is very great art, I see the art work to be different kinds of corns that have been grown together.

Yes, now that you mention it, there are some parts that look like corns indeed! Of a sinister and foreboding variety, of course... Thanks for your comment.

Ummh I'm not sure it is a fractal, I can't see any autosimilar structure, maybe they are in there but they are not explicit.
Anyway this doesn't matter, your work is extremily amazing...my eyes were immediately kidnapped by so much beauty and complexity. Good job!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Indeed, this picture is not a fractal -- it is based on a fractal processed in Deep Dream Generator, a site providing image composition services. I posted the original fractal here, 4 months ago: BURST
image.png

In some of my fractals I try hard to hide the elements that identify it as a fractal, so that a viewer will have to look more carefully in order to realize it is based on maths.

Ah ok ok I didn't understand it because I was focused on your image and sometimes my brain is a bit fucked up. Yes now I can see elements of autosimilarity, even if is not easy at all, but it is a cool work too!! But as I study maths I wonder which kind of math function can generate this fractal, I guess it has not a simple form, or am I wrong?

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, its weird bu very cool

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50