Satellite Dish Shelltown San Diego California

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0I’m in the backyard of a rental where I lived for 6 months in Shelltown San Diego California. It is hard to tell, but this is a lovely well-built home on a sloping lot. It drops off even further behind me.

There is a gate to the alley at the bottom of the lot. When I asked the landlord if I could go in and out that way he said, “Only if I build you an escalator.” Yes, this lot is very steep.

I was glad I got this shot on the day before I moved in. After I was living there, the landlord told me not to go in the backyard due to the many things there that were “confidential.” This is the same landlord I have written about who saw, talked to, and danced with invisible people. It took me a while to realize how severe his mental illness was.

I used a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera for this photo.

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg
I am a proud member of @socalsteemit. We bring Southern California to you on the STEEM blockchain. If you have a connection to this area, please join us. We would love to have you!

And this is my entry for the Show Us Your California Contest.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Looks and sounds like a strange landlord, I had to take a look at this as I have installed many satellite dishes in my time but mostly communications ones not for TV

His dad installed this giant before passing on. The house was the dad's since the 1950's and could have been so nice. But instead it was crazy town.

sure sounds like crazy town, like everything even satellite dishes do not need to be that big anymore

To get a decent C Band signal you do. Thats also where the major networks process backhauls. Basically deciding what your going to see and hear on the news. www.lyngsat.com also SatBeams https://satbeams.com/

Yes thats a good point, I was thinking or meaning more for home reception rather than major backhaul setups and here in the states, these are still common in other countries as well
I have lost count of how many C and KU band dishes i installed in various countries over the years in the field, but that was mainly on our leased transponders for voice and data and a few years back

I enjoy scanning the various birds for data and free entertainment. As well as news that has just happened, before censors distort it, or simply bury it. A well positioned set of C and Ku Band satelite dishes is the best way to see the world without leaving home. Al Jazeera and RT are two of my favorites for "the other side of the story".

I used to do the same when in the field and there were not any local TV stations

some cool info on there, back when I was setting up Earth Stations we didn't have all this sort of info so easily available

I still have a few of those gigantic Earth Station Recievers. along with some DTV and BEV equipment and older Globecast systems, with dishes, all new.

thats cool you still have them

yes. A freind of mine buys out storage units and its full of satelite lnbs, recievers, switches, tons of stuff. there about a dozen or so "amino" STB's in the mix. Also transmitting lnbs new it the box. The earth stations look like they are rack mounted and have parralell ports on them. about 18 inch cube with brown metal cover.

That’s cool I do kind of miss my days in the field setting up earth stations and other telecom equipment
Climbing the towers I don’t miss so much

He might be afraid you will bump his C band antenna pole and knock it out of alignment.

Haha! This poor man was afraid of a lot of things.

I would be afraid of the natural gas meter and piping more than anything. One earthquake and you have a volcano in your backyard.

Haha! I did not even think of that, @marcoagarcia3rd. You are looking at earthquake country and this is on the side of a big rip in the earth too!

Congratulations @fitinfun, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Not good looking though earnings some bucks out of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93