San Ysidro California Trolley Stop View

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0ntopaz-image-1ntopaz-image-2ntopaz-image-3The Beyer Blvd Trolley Stop is about a mile and a half from the Mexican border in San Diego California, and might as well be in Mexico. I lived here for the last 7 months before leaving the US for SE Asia, and felt like I was already gone. The place is called San Ysidro, but got absorbed into San Diego for reasons unknown. There are many towns between the two places.

Most of the stores and restaurants here cater to a Spanish speaking population and had products I was not used to seeing just a few miles north. My English was unusual. Often people in this area did not speak it. Or they spoke broken English when they asked me where I was from.

I did not actually live at this trolley station. I lived a mile away up the side of a cliff. I walked in and out often, and it was never easy. It was steep coming down and wanted to kill me going back up sometimes.

I’m standing here waiting for a taxi. You would think they would be here at a trolley stop waiting, but they are not. Supposedly there is crime in this place, but I never felt unsafe or had any problem. But when I had heavy things like groceries I could not make it up the cliff and had to wait for however long it took for a cab to get here after I called. It might take several calls to get them to come.

On this day I had low sun and clear air at sunset and was playing with my camera. I am zoomed way in on my cheap point and shoot. The stoplight is far away from me and the 711 is very far. It would take me 15 minutes to walk there at least. The clear air is tricking my eye and the camera too.

And why post four shots? I like to watch the lady walking and the man with the hat. I have been looking at these photos for over three years now and cannot pick a favorite.

My post today is for the Show Us Your California Contest by @socalsteemit:

https://steempeak.com/socalsteemit/@socalsteemit/show-us-your-california-contest-week-46

You can enter too with your own California story.

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg
I am a proud member of @socalsteemit. We bring Southern California to you on the STEEM blockchain. If you have a connection to this area, please join us. We would love to have you!

Sort:  

Congratulations @fitinfun, your post won 1st prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Thank you so much, @socalsteemit. You have no idea how happy I am for this boost today. I will be back!

San Ysidro was absorbed by San Diego due to water theft.

San Diego stole the water and polluted it - pretty much killed the small farm life that with residents who owned 2 acres of land or less - then started taxing the people till they left and now litters it as a border town that everyone turns their nose up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78