Frenchies for a New "Animals in Chairs" drawing

in #ntopaz6 years ago

ntopaz-image-0Another sketch for a new piece.

Here is the entire sketch, a New layout for a New Animals in Chairs:
feb16study.jpg

You can see I am playing with a colour palette for this piece.

At this stage, the layout sketch (which is really sort of a second layer after a very rough sketch with circles for heads and such) I like to think about colour.

I like my Animal Chair series to have usually a bi or tri-colour colour story.

I like the sort of pop art quality you can get from it. With this one you can see I am thinking of a Grey and Yellow theme, and possible some darker tones of brownish made up from the yellows and greys.

My inspiration for using French Bulldogs is the good news that my Mother in Law might be getting a pair.

I am so excited, as I have used Frenchies before and I really love them. They are a breed I have considered myself getting, so knowing I'll have some in my life soon is kind of exciting.

My Mother in Law doesn't come back from Florida until mid April, so I'll then be around to see or maybe even possibly get to be part of the 'choosing' process. I'm not sure if she will do rescue or puppies.

Well, I missed posting yesterday, but I was busy trying to steal some more morning time to get things done. I know I've been sharing a lot of sketches lately and not 'finished' work, but that is simply where I am at currently.

It is nice to have a few sketches laid out though, so one morning I can sit down and get to the final stage.

Having the prep work done always helps my motivation in the morning. Even laying out a rough sketch always feels good for the next day as well. Like this morning, having laid out this idea over the past two days, I could sit down and do the Study Sketch and really think about composition and colour.

My next step for this is deciding on the design for the 'wallpaper' behind them.

I love playing with floral designs for these, especially when I am so hungry for Spring to begin.

Well, I hope all of you are enjoying your Saturday and getting a few moments to indulge your passions. Now, I have to get off to the rest of my day.

If you feel so inclined please upvote, resteem, and by all means comment below.

My Previous Post: Adding colour to my Singularity Sketch

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Another great sketch, starting to recognize your dogs.. in any color or without :)

[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thanks @axeman. I've been sketching away, just need more time for finishing :)

Oh, I love this one, Donna! The layout is really nice, with that one-seater sofa! Very lovely <3 The French Bulldogs have such characters to them, and I look forward to seeing this coloured :)

Thanks so much @verypsider. I had meant to work on it yesterday, but I was lucky to go to a small party and it was nice to take a break from all the things I've had to do :)

So sweet!!!! You know I love all your artworks, but your pieces of animals series are something special for me. ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh that's nice @silviabeneforti I really do love do animal pieces. It's nice to have fun and create the little creatures we love to play with in real life.

The sketch is working out nicely already. And I wonder if you use your favourite chair as a model there :).
                   
I'm glad to hear that your mother in law is planning to get these doggos... quite exciting really :D.

No, I don't own this one, @scrawly but I love the mid-century feel of it, so I wouldn't mind owning it :) Part of my chair obsession has been to paint the chairs I love without hoarding so many in my real life ;) I seriously love to buy chairs, so this sort of allows me the joy without the clutter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62