“Can’t wait for spring!”.

in #ntopaz6 years ago

ntopaz-image-0ntopaz-image-1ntopaz-image-2ntopaz-image-3ntopaz-image-4ntopaz-image-5ntopaz-image-6Hello Friends,

Here is my resent oil pastel painting. It’s called can’t wait for spring:-)

Here is my step by step process.

  1. So as always, I first made an outline.

  2. I first worked on the vase, using light blue, blue and for the vase and white for the highlights.

  3. For my flowers main color was red, but I used variety of reds, yellow for the middle and a bit of purple.

  4. I also used variety of greens for the leaves, and bit of yellow

  1. Then, I worked on my background. It’s a mixture of peach and ochre, a bit of grey for the shadow.

I hope you liked my step by step photos.

Thank you for visiting my blog!

Sort:  

Nicely done. I loved working with oil pastels. I used to work with them on velour papers. That was years and years ago. I ran out of those supplies and have never been able to afford to restock. There always seems to be shoes or clothes or school stuff for my son, or medicines and doctors for me to eat up our finances. [sigh]

Thank you for your comment @momzillanc, I agree, good materials are often expensive. I usually buy using 40-50% coupon or on sales. Also I use students’ oil pastel, not professional.

I love a good sale too.

But, I have to prioritize our limited finances: 15yr old son education and needs and wants, then mortgage, then groceries and utilities OR medicine for me, then hubby’s needs, then my needs, then art supplies. Needless to say, art supplies just don’t make the cut unless I can get a commission with advance pay to cover the cost of materials. That portrait I just finished for my dad was only possible because he paid for the materials. I’m kind of restricted to pen and ink, charcoal, pencil, or colored pencils these days because they are the more cost-effective materials.

I know what you mean, you are doing wise prioritizing. Limited materials are great too because it makes you do great art with a simple medium.

The pencils I use tend to be rather more costly than, say Crayola pencils. However, they give great fill-in and rich color. They also lend themselves well to the wash-treatment I favor, and can actually be dissolved and used as fair-to-middling watercolors. Of course, if I used them for watercolors all the time, they’d be used up much faster. That doesn’t seem a reasonable exchange to me for only fair-to-middling color as paint.

Beautiful flowers!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by artmom from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48