You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rough ideas for the Nth Society as text adventure

in #nth-society6 years ago (edited)

I appreciated this post, as it drove home to me how little I understand programming, and game development in particular.

"This will slow things down, but it's the safest way to be sure of a correct timestamp. I don't see this as a final solution, I hope there are ways to get an immediate timestamp which is either known to be correct or within acceptable error bounds."

However, I had a thought about this. Since the 'server' for each iteration of the game is intended to be distributed, I thought of the 'gossip about gossip' validation mechanism of hashgraph. This would minimize resources necessary to devote to validation, and enable instant validation of local events, swift validation of regional events, and potentiate system wide validation at leisure for matters (unlike volcanic eruption for example) that haven't a system wide time critical nature.

Edit: The more I think about it, the more that model seems highly suited to the varied infrastructure and network topography the game will encounter, for every aspect of game-space evolution as effected by players and incident programmatic or ambient change.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comments, I think you understand more than you think you do but anyway I'm glad you're reading these, your contributions are very useful.

Absolutely, I read the HashGraph whitepaper a couple of times last week and have been considering engineering it from the information in the paper alone. I need to look at the legality of this first, they are totally the kind of company to lawyer up over something like that, but it might be fine to craft a solution inspired by their public research.

So in that case every node would know the correct timestamp to use without asking anyone else, because they would be synced already by previous transactions, recorded in the gossip-on-the-gossip system. I agree, it seems like the perfect solution, I have some newer plans based on it and I'll do a post on it soon, probably after I have done some testing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65