Sort:  

There are influences on meatbags that aren't potential in game. Feelings. I noted several of the tales regaling us spoke of such things as if they were happening, but the impulse to act animalistically is greatly reduced online.

Despite that, pr0n is a hazard yet.

My youth was largely regrettable as a result of giving sway to impulses that beings of pure reason would not have. This will impact how the game is played, and result in divergence from RL in substantive ways. Dunno what to do about that, but it's something that will potentially prevent useful simulation if not carefully considered.

Another issue is crafting. Clever folks can come up with pretty ingenious uses for things that aren't foreseeable. Invention is something that characterizes culture, and drives societal evolution. I have no idea how such a property might be potentiated in game. Again, a static technology can prevent conformity between the simulation and RL.

Dunno if these are issues you want to deal with. Obviously trying to bite off more than can be chewed can choke things, rather than contribute to their growth.

Thanks!

Really good points, and definitely things worth considering. The biting off too much issue is real, but that doesn't stop us considering things, it should just influence where developmental energy gets focused.

Feelings will be real, via the meatbag. But feelings simulated per age, maybe something we could call emotional maturity, cannot be simulated in this way. This is one of the ways that the simulation will necessarily fail to be realistic in. I'm loath to add features which attempt to artificially create these situations, but perhaps it is needed for certain aspects. Would you consider this to be one of them?

The crafting thing is real too, or rather bounded inventiveness. Someone had the idea for crafting specs to be able to be written in game as a player, which is another way to say invention is possible. I really like this in concept but I'm not sure how to translate it to the game world. I would definitely be open to it.

What I meant by feelings isn't translatable into digital media: physical sensations, glandular impulses. Hunger, for example. Fatigue. Lust or laziness. Things that greatly impact society and inform human interactions aren't replicable in an avatar.

As to invention, the idea is awesome, and I suspect possible essential to the Nth, but how can the properties of the invented item be codified after the game is published? Should users be able to drive some kind of autonomous code writing routine to add new items to the world?

Thanks!

Yes that's true, there can be no direct physical connection without some very extreme futuristic interfaces. Some things can be modelled, such as hunger, but the actual experience of hunger cannot be made to feel real for the meatbag player.

You assume that these experiences "greatly impact society" in and of themselves. I'm not convinced their experiential reality is so important, but that is something the game will implicitly test.

Regarding inventing, I'm not really sure, the idea is very vague at the moment and waiting for someone to develop it. I think it could be possible. Second Life has such a facility, though it's far more for show than anything else. See this or this link.

Regarding how our senses impact society, I can speak from personal experience alone, and what I have observed. Animal impulses are an enormous influence.

Since no game has been able to tap into them, I dunno what to do about that, but since the purpose of the Nth is to simulate volutarist society, I reckon some consideration to the impact of such matters and how the affect society is going to be necessary.

As I said, my recollections are that such matters largely governed my youth. I suspect that to be the case for most folks. YMMV, but I doubt it.

Look at the risky behaviour it drives everywhere you can. Smoking, drinking, gluttony, promiscuity, laziness, skydiving, streetracing, copbaiting, on and on. None of these things are chosen for rational reasons, they are behaviours driven by the animalistic sensations we are prone to.

Absent those impulses, the modeling ability of the game is limited.

I remember you could drink to drunkenness in Everquest. They tried to simulate the disorientating effect of drunkenness, and it was kind of fun to try to navigate drunk, but it's also nothing like as compelling as the sensation of a buzz.

Not trying to bugger things up, but such impacts on human behaviour may benefit from some Everquest style simulation.

Maybe some things can be driven by tapping into the impulses of the meatbags playing the avatars, since they can't be made to affect the avatars themselves.

Like when an avatar is at an age when young men are suffering testosterone poisoning, some compelling benefit to the animal urges of the player might be triggered by ingame foolish behaviour.

Awesome, yes I get you. So while I'm not convinced that it's important - you are - and how this works, how it should work, is that you are basically volunteering to describe that, which you have started to do, and I thank you.

I'm sure it would be very useful to the project if you were to lay this all out with a bit of research in a post.

I am incapable of translating the concepts into code, but I can try to provide some examples of how to incentivize foolishness that our glands provide in real life.

I'll roll that around a bit in the back of my head, until an idea falls out. That's generally how my writing process works =p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43