You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nth Society update - fork to tabletop RPG

in #nth-society6 years ago

Thank you Lex for your well considered comment. I won't say that I baited you but I did allow myself to be careless with my lack of knowledge in the hope of correction. It's good to read your thoughts on it, sweet and sour.

In order:

That's interesting about the distinction between the types of games. In my experience the styles as you describe them are combined in usual DnD play, with tabletop miniatures used for combat and pen and paper style for exploration and conversation. I have a little more clarity on them now.

On your great and disturbing length of nontraditional RPG knowledge, I'll say for other readers that to discover more they can visit your Steem blog, I gained a lot from that myself.

Fair point on centrality of combat, I'll leave it at your comment which was good.

I'm glad to read there are other less collaborative styles of GMing and I'd love to hear more about that. I think that might be to the taste of some players of what I propose, though it's hard to say at this point. Also as a side note I'd like to hear why you're no DnD fan, or perhaps you could direct me to your previous writings on it.

On fantastic adventures, where you start to show your teeth. Touché. Arguably the pursuit of a voluntaryist community is fantastical, and it also makes for a good barb. That said you make some errors here which I chalk down to not knowing the proposal that well, which is fair, as who's got the time to commit that to memory. Let me correct you.

It is not ahistorical, though it does diverge from the present as soon as play begins, by definition. Perhaps the divergence begins when a group of well intentioned crypto-fanatics buys land in South America to build their private utopia (this actually happened in Chile involving our very own @dollarvigilante --- really), or attempts to claim land they already own as a sovereign state (as actually happened in Missouri as United Sovereign States of Maximillian and the Republic of Molossia for example), or living way out in the ocean somehow, or whatever players can think of, with existing precedent or not. But I accept your following point as it's good advice, that the fantastic elements of narrative roleplaying could be applicable.

Again I have to quibble with you about the requirement of realism. Only the most stubborn pedant would split hairs over verisimilitude vs realism. Either will do to describe the aims. Verisimilitude is a more accurate word, but really? In any case with concern to the game, it is important that the difficulty of life be simulated, consequences of sickness and injury, well modelled learning of skills, availability of resources, and so on. This is of course what is meant. It is in fact central to the game. That said I see a lot of this potentially being "zoomed out" to a single dice roll if it's not the focus of play for a particular group. This is an area I'm very interested in exploring.

I don't completely recall you bringing up the Freemarket RPG but that is super interesting. My initial research now suggests it's not really the same kind of game at all, the sci-fi setting not withstanding. It would genuinely be my hope that something exactly like what I'm looking for already exists, or something close enough to make a variant, so I am all ears on this one. I will definitely try this one out. I'm sure much could be learned from looking at it either way. Small point though: that something already exists is not a reason to not do it.

I know you're more one to comment than one to collaborate so I won't ask, but I would be very interested to continue to engage you as I develop things. In the interest of this I will empty my bag of ideas onto the table in the next post and won't draw that part out, you and other commenters could save me some time.

Know this: we are obsessed with realism and very much intend to include crypto in some way. These are characteristics. The relative lack of understanding of game spaces and narrative, I have to admit to that. You are an expert and you tower over me in experience. See me as someone starting out.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71