Benign UFO - My exquisite Angel for a surrealistic project

in #nsfw7 years ago

Contains mild nudity!

Back in 2008, I was invited to "Ange Exquis", a group project, where each contributing artist was to paint his vision of an exquisite Angel.

BENIGN-UFO30x36.jpg

We were given the size, 78"x65", and a line was supposed to run horizontally across the picture, 39" from the bottom.

As always, to me it was clear, that I didn't want this to be an angel like we normally envision them, although a major aspect was the fact, that angels can fly. So instead of painting wings, I embedded my figure in a surreal flying mechanism, with her at the controls.

benignUfo-2.jpg

"Benign UFO", 2008, 196 x 165 cm, mixed media/oil on canvas


This was my first noteworthy attempt in oil painting, since most of my work is on, actually on the reverse side of glass. Would have been challenging for a piece this size, so I decided to do it on canvas.


Photo of my angel by me of my own artwork.


sig_2013-1-Klein.jpg

Sort:  

lovely work. looks a bit Balthus ;)

Thank you! Very flattering comparison again!

This is so lovely. I've come by to look at her several times and each time I see the actress Kirsten Dunst in her face. Was Kirsten an inspiration?

As always, so glad you like it! I'm afraid, I didn't even know Kirsten Dunst back in 2008, when I painted this. The model was a young woman who worked in my wife's café at the time... she insists, that everyone knows, that she only modeled for the face ;-)

I always love your work!

@sean-king i made this for you i hope you would like it :)

where were you ? these days my friend @sean-king i was waiting for your new photoshoot post :)

Thank you! I really appreciate it, and its always a pleasure to visit your blog! Yesterdays photo was simply stunning!!

What a fabulous piece of art work. Surreal, but oh so beautiful.

Thanks a lot for your nice compliment. Checked your blog real quick.. instant follow and I know, what I'll be doing tonight!

You're welcome. @bucho resteemed your post, which is how i saw it. Very glad he did. I have followed you too (sorry thought i did that earlier). Your art work is very appealing to me, and more so than that it is firing up story idea neurons in my head. So yes, I will gladly spend more time perusing your work.

All the best to you.

Looks like the appreciation goes both ways, and your work is also very inspiring! All the best for you as well :-)

My gosh, what do I say.. that I wish to have such a 'gift' of this. Out of this world completely- not even from another world..another existence.

beautiful girl here <3

Its just a different form of expression... you do it with words!

Superb! I like the steempunk, Rube Goldberg complexity of the mechanism contrasting with the smooth beauty of the human form.

This was my first noteworthy attempt in oil painting

If this was your first attempt I can't wait to see what came later!

Rube Goldberg's mechanisms are awesome... thank you for seeing an analogy there.

Later.... how about this one (best in full view):

Die Enthüllung_0-1500x650.jpg

Consider me a fan!

I like the fact that it looks like a collage even though everything is painstakingly painted. How long does a work like that take?

This one also makes me think of the video game Bioshock Infinite, which was full of all sorts of crazy mechanical contrivances. The whole Bioshock video game franchise was influenced by (as much as it was critical of) Ayn Rand's hyper-optimistic objectivism, with all that art deco metallic futurism and symbols of machinery and progress.

My Wife could speak a lot more intelligently to this. She's got the art history degree (but I've played more video games.)

Thank you for sharing. I'm always in awe of those that paint, and the color and composition are just sublime.

You are highly skilled, and it shows.

Thank you very much for your very much appreciated compliments. Everybody has something where they are good at... trying hard for that to be my art with me.

Very beautiful, I love the control in this canvas!

Thank you very much! Will you show a few more of these beauties in the future?

Oh, of course! however, it probably won't be top-flight award. Though many of the cars from Hot August Nights are very original. But yes, I will post more.

Ah! Majestic. Otherworldly. Elegant. I haven't seen anything like it, my friend. I'm hooked with one look. So glad I clicked the little red "nsfw" button (not knowing what the acronym stood for) and had the pleasure of seeing your angel here.

Very sorry for my late reply. Has a few dozen tabs open with things I wanted to check out... like your blog. Guess my PC was finally on overload and fainted... slowly trying to find all the lost trails again.

Thanks a lot for your kind words!

My pleasure! I'm keeping my eye on you, and looking forward to seeing more of your paintings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76