༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ How to hide your identity online. I.P and user agent using firefox Simple and straight forward. Say no to the NSA mass surveillance. ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ

in #nsa8 years ago (edited)

Don't leave a foot print. Don't let the NSA spy on you.

So you are worried about leaving a digital foot print but not sure how you can hide it. You probably have downloaded a VPN in the past. (Which works but i prefer the 2 tier I.P)

All steps will be preformed on firefox as it is the most simple to do it on.

Step one will be socks5.

First off you will need a socks5 I.P and port number my advice is pay for this as you can purchase private ones non blacklisted for your own use. I pay around 30-40 cents a day for mine on http://premsocks.com. Below there is screen grabs of where to put the I.P you buy or find for free online and the port number. I have done a step by step guide so everyone can do this.

Go to options

On this left side of the options go to advanced. Now click settings as circled in red in the screen grab.

Now click manual proxy configuration and enter the Socks5 I.P and port in the box circled in red. Please note the socks5 listed below no longer works.

Once you have a socks5 I.P and port (you can get these from premsocks.com or multiple other places which offer the same service) and have enabled your socks5 proxy within the settings on google chrome you will now show a different I.P when connecting to any websites. You can check this by going to whatismyipaddress.com.

Now for user agents.

Hiding which device is being used too connect. User agent is an important step to hiding what device and operating system was used to connect to the servers. (Do not try accessing your paypal with a different I.P and user agent as it with limit your account and you will have to contact them to unlock it.

Go to addons (as circled in red)

On the get addons tab scroll to the bottom.

In the search bar type in User agent override.

Click on it ofcourse then click add to firefox.

Once added it will appear at the top right of the firefox window. It has many preset but i will add the user agent line for iphone. In the screen grab above it shows the little icon in which to click. If you click on preferences you will get this window pop up.

On this window as you cann see are all the preset user agents which it offers, a search of google will give you other user agents of other devices. Here is one for the iphone. Just copy and paste the text below and put it one line under the other user agents listed.

iOS / Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 7_1_2 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/537.51.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/7.0 Mobile/11D257 Safari/9537.53

That's all. Now you can launch firefox everytime and have a hidden location and user agent. Also i advice changing keyboard and timezone to the same as the I.P you use. This kind of thing is also very useful for people in business trying to protect their data.

Also remember to never use firefox and these settings in full screen. Kind of defeats the purpose. If you are pretending to be on an iphone for example and you use full screen it will show conflict in the data. The aspect ratio won't make sense for an iphone. So just never keep it full screen extra tip.

This took me way longer than i though but hope it helps some of you and more importantly makes the NSA's mass surveillance that much harder for them, Thanks for looking - Josh

I hope @dollarvigilante approves! with everything that is going on my advice is the least information they can gather about you, the better.

Sort:  

I have spent $0.40 a day on so many useless things. Definitely using this. I'm sure everyone will agree. I'm not doing anything wrong I just dont want a digital person over my shoulder

Wrong and right is subjective so as long as you stay moral you will have my support :D Also i have nothing to hide in my home but i still close the blinds at night? :P

the government hides most of what they do from us. if they are not doing anything wrong, what are they afraid of?

they hide it but what they can do does leak. They want dirt is my opinion. Lets give them scrambled data instead :D

and/or jail time

My guess would be the fact that we dont need them as much as we think and most of the resources are being sent to collaborators for power and control and not to benefit the people who's money they take

we also don't need them as much as THEY think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54