Music Fix Friday (Now Playing Week 36) [Junk,New City,RUSSELL!,Soul Blind,Dalton,Tyler Cassidy,Mike Stud,Geech Gotti,Bdice]

in #nowplaying6 years ago

Junk - Squad

Man, Junk keeps coming with the hits. I recall quite liking him when he battled in KOTD so it's good to see him coming out with some really dope music [something a lot of battlers seem to struggle with for whatever reason].
I really like the direction they went with the video with there being a good mix of references to the song and him rapping a bit of it to the camera but it also just depicting what seems like a real party in between.

NEW CITY - For My Eyes Only

The current top comment on this video sums up my thoughts quite well: "You guys are literally going to be the next big thing. This is amazing."
I think this has huge potential to blow up; it really sounds like something Maroon 5 or Justin Timberlake would put out and if either of them had I know this would be doing big things for them so here's hoping this reaches the right ears and blows up!

RUSSELL! - Prince Charming

Yup, another post with more RUSSELL music in it haha. Honestly, he is just so darn consistent I can't help but put his songs in these. I've been seeing him popping up in different places a lot in the last couple of months so perhaps he is finally getting his due recognition.
Also worth mentioning the dancing he does with himself at 1:07 is shot and performed so well and it's flipping hilarious!

Soul Blind - Slipping

Okay, this is probably my coolest music discovery method in a long time haha.
I was about to name a beat "Soul Slipping" but I first wanted to Google that and see if it was indeed a term that people use [turns out it is but I ended up calling the beat "Astral Projection" in the end].
This was the second result and so I decided to check the song out to see if it was any good. I'm surprised it was the second result as this has 137 views right now but I am really glad it was. Both this and the other song they have up on YouTube reminds me of some early to mid 90's Alt-Rock in the vein of Nirvana, SoundGarden etc.
You'll really hear the Nirvana influence in the other song they have up:

Dalton - Hallelujah

Much like RUSSELL I find Dalton to be very consistent with every release. He's one of the odd artists where I sometimes like his verses more than the hook. Don't get me wrong his hooks are really well done and catchy but he does so many crazy flows on his verses that it makes the whole song worth a full listen every time.
Also, bonus points for him saying "pass me the hookah" as I love a good hookah smoke session haha.

Tyler Cassidy - Boyfriend

Whoa, looks like I'm not the only one to think this was Tyler's perfect mix for his new music. Most of his latest songs have been getting 10-20K views but this one is almost at 120K right now, excite!
I've been really enjoying his move away from Rap and into some classic David Bowie, Elton John type Pop-Rock music but I think songs with a comedic element like his Rap had is exactly the direction he needs to take.

Mike Stud - DO IT

Mike has been doing a perfect job of hitting us with those really nice chill vibes to end the summer off right lately. Another super consistent artist who is always in heavy rotation for me.

GEECHI GOTTI - BLUE SKIES

Man, I need more music like this to come out. It's not considered a sub-genre as far as I know but Soulful-Street Hip Hop is a real favourite of mine.

Bdice - Mark III

I'm very late on finding out about this guy and he has a lot of dope content for me to catch up on but I figured I would share a recent song from him in here.
The beat switches on this are crazy and he handles it like a seasoned vet which makes sense as it looks like he's been doing music consistently at a rapid pace for quite a few years.
He also does all the video work for Lil Windex so definitely a really talented well rounded artist!

Sort:  

Thanks for entering this week's #nowplaying!
If you would like your song added to the weekly spotify playlist, reply to this comment in the following format:

Artist
Song

If you have multiple songs, make multiple replies to this comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76