Music Fix Friday (Now Playing Week 35) [T-Bear,Donovan Woods,RUSSELL!,Quake Matthews.Mitchell Bailey etc.]

in #nowplaying6 years ago

Phewwww this is going to be a very large post being that it's been 3 weeks since I did one of these and a lot of great music has dropped since then.

T-Bear - Day Before

It's been a while since I heard something from T but it was definitely worth the wait with this gem that he dropped. I really enjoy the message he brings forth while weaving tons of dope punches in.

Junk - Sociomedia

Junk, on the other hand has been putting out a ton of music this last year and this may be his best song from that batch! Not only is it a great concept but the flows and way he mixes all of the different social media topics in is genius.

Donovan Woods - Next Year

I listen to a lot of Hip Hop so this song may seem out of place but boy do I ever love me some Donovan Woods!
His voice could probably fall into the ASMR category haha and the whole concept and story of this song is great.

Futuristic - Lil Bit

This is a bit of a departure from what F typically hits us with at least beat wise. It sounds like some Future Bass to me but I've been wrong on pretty much every EDM sub-genre the last few months so I am sure it is something else haha.
At any rate I really like hearing F on production like this, it fits him really well and may be the direction that will take him to the levels of someone he came up with to an extent, KYLE.

RUSSELL! - Money Don't Make Me

I think this is a worth a watch/listen just for his dance moves haha. This is once again sounding like some Future Bass or some other EDM type production mixed with some Trap drums which is a perfect blend for him if you ask me.

RUSSELL! - LOVE TRAGIC

Yes, back to back RUSSELL! songs haha. He actually had 3 songs in the last 3 weeks for me to put in here and I was originally going to cut it down to just one but I could not pick between the two I put in here since they hit two different styles and I think they are both great.

Watsky - Welcome to the Family

Watsky constantly blows me away with how talented he is but this may have been the one that blew me away the most.
The production of both the video and music is incredible and Watsky fits it oh so well.

Russ - The Flute Song

Russ x Scott Storch, nuff said.

ROY PURDY - Oh Wow

From what I have heard thus far I feel like Roy has really found his style of Hip Hop and is killing it. I feel like a lot of people are going to sleep on him as a rapper because of him being known as a dancer but he is easily one of the best new rappers of the last few years.

Certi - Regular

Ready for a run of Canadian artists representing the East and West coast? haha
Certi [along with the next two artists] really needs someone in the industry to give him a look and the push he deserves. Not only is he a legit street rapper [which let's be honest most of them probably aren't] but this guy can rap and sing better than most people who just do one of them.

Quake Matthews - July (Feat. JRDN)

This is at a tragically low view count for how great it is. The video is really well done and I like how they strayed from the typical focusing on the artist[s] music video concept and went for something different.
The concept of going through the months and using July in a way to say you lie is genius and proof in how incredible of a writer Quake is. The flows are of course on point as Quake's had that down for years and JRDN brings some really smooth vocals through. Hopefully this blows up next summer.

Mitchell Bailey - Attention!

Not only does Mitchell rap circles around most putting him in a position to sit comftorably next to seasoned vets he also does a great job of keeping up on current sounds of Hip Hop and moulding them to his sound.
I really enjoy how always weaves a bit of a story in with his punches in his verses.
I also have to mention that Nookie killed the beat on this and not only is he becoming a beast at production but he is also a great audio engineer.

Classified - Finish It

Finish It.

Merkules x Lil Windex x Caspian x Evil Ebenezer - SDK Cypher 2018

This feels like a good end to the Canada run leaving the East to go to the West coast.
I can't pick just one because I felt all of them brought their own style through really well on a very current beat.
One thing I will point out about all four of them is that they start their verses out with a haymaker. This is something I wish more rappers would focus on because if you start out heavy I am going to pay attention to your whole verse.

PnB Rock - ABCD (Friend Zone)

Okay, not only is this song super duper catchy but the way PnB used ABCD is super clever. When I saw the title I thought it was going to be some rockstar AC/DC type song but it was the total opposite haha.
This one gets better with every listen. I wish this came out a couple of months ago because it is the perfect smooth summer hit.

Domani - Outro

This is that real Hip Hop right here. He starts the verse off talking about his Pops which as it turns out is T.I. which is crazy to me that T.I. already has a kid rapping and killing it.

MILLYZ x STATIK SELEKTAH - ADDICTION

Man, I am so pumped to see Millyz getting a well-deserved look and it's so dope that it is with one of my favourite producers Statik!
Millyz has been putting out insanely nice music for quite a few years now and I think Statik's production style is the perfect fit for him to tell some great stories over. This song is exactly what we need in Hip Hop right now with far too many rappers promoting drug use too often.

DoubtCamdon - Crash

This is currently a little bit below 8K views but I really think this will be at 500K by the end of the year. Not only is this song super dope, reminding me of a new twist on Busta Rhyme's style but it also has the type of vibe from a decent amount of songs that have dropped in the last few years that blew up eventually. Really excited to hear more from this guy because this is on a whole other level!

Jaz Valentino | So Long

Another Canadian in the mix! I really enjoy how much of the Toronto inflexion comes strong through in his vocals, really pushing forth that vibe. The song is super catchy and he really paints a vivid picture of his life.

Wiz Khalifa - Goin Hard

I really was not expecting Wiz to do a video for this one so I was really pumped when I saw it! His latest album Rolling Papers 2 has a whopping 25 tracks! With that many songs on an album you would think there would be a lot of sleepers but there is really only one song on the album that I don't like and it's ruined by the two other rappers that are on it.
Goin Hard was one of my favourite's from the album, the beat by TM88 is quite simple but that flute-ish sound that he sprinkles throughout is really unique and quite the earworm.

Whoa, 20 songs....I am really going to try to keep doing these every week haha.

Sort:  

lol I need a week to listen to all the stuff you've shared... hahaha
Thanks for your sharings Will be giving them a try these days 🙃

Hahaha I know this is what 3 weeks of me not posting songs looks like.
I think I easily listen to somewhere between 100 and 200 new songs every week [and there is a lot in there that I don't like or just think is okay] and anything that I quite like gets put in a YouTube playlist of mine and then I pick the best ones for this post.
I probably had around 35 songs to pick from for this and although 20 was a lot to put in a post I couldn't leave any of them out!

Thanks for entering this week's #nowplaying!
If you would like your song added to the weekly spotify playlist, reply to this comment in the following format:

Artist
Song

If you have multiple songs, make multiple replies to this comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79