Now Playing Week 9 - The Steeldrivers

I have been listening to this since I was in high school. A few awesome friends showed me this amazing bluegrass band about 12 years ago. There were so many great songs on this album that I was a little upset when I didn't hear anything new coming out from them... got lost in other genres of music for a while... and then... BAM! I randomly heard Chris Stapleton on the radio one day and was determined that it was the lead singer of The Steeldrivers... I was horrible and did not know who the actual singer was when I was introduced to this band for the first time, but I was correct and it was, in fact, Chris Stapleton's amazing vocals piercing my eardrums. His voice tears my soul to shreds in the best way. I hope you all enjoy the songs I have been listening to this week!

Song ONE:
The Steeldrivers- Blue Side of the Mountain - the first song that ever graced my ears and stole my heart:

lyrics:

Theres a place in a piney hollow
That no one but me can find
Some Choctaw built it in the hillside
Stone by stone in a simpler time

Its a holy place my daddy showed me
Back before this land was mine
On the blue side of the mountain
Where the sun don't ever shine

So deep and dark like a hurtin' down in my heart
Maybe someday they'll show me some kind of sign
On the blue side of the mountain
Where the sun don't ever shine

Im goin' back to a world of shadow
Gotta find some peace 'for I lose my mind
On the blue side of the mountain
Where the sun don't ever shine

So deep and dark like a hurtin' down in my heart
Maybe someday they'll show me some kind of sign
On the blue side of the mountain
Where the sun don't ever shine

Song TWO:
The Steeldrivers- If it Hadn't Been for Love - This song is just AMAZING!!!

Lyrics:

Never would've hitchhiked to Birmingham
If it hadn't been for love
Never would've caught the train to Louisiana
If it hadn't been for love
Never would've run through the blindin' rain
Without one dollar to my name
If it hadn't been
If it hadn't been for love

Never would've seen the trouble that I'm in
If it hadn't been for love
Would've been gone like a wayward wind
If it hadn't been for love
Nobody knows it better than me
I wouldn't be wishing I was free
If it hadn't been
If it hadn't been for love

Four cold walls against my will
At least I know he's lying still
Four cold walls without parole
Lord have mercy on my soul

Never would've gone to that side of town
If it hadn't been for love
Never would've took a mind to track him down
If it hadn't been for love
Never would've loaded up a forty-four
And put myself behind a jailhouse door
If it hadn't been
If it hadn't been for love

Four cold walls against my will
At least I know he's lying still
Four cold walls without parole
Lord have mercy on my soul

Never would've hitchhiked to Birmingham
If it hadn't been for love
Never would've caught the train to Louisiana
If it hadn't been for love
Never would've loaded up a forty-four
Put myself behind a jailhouse door
If it hadn't been
If it hadn't been for love

If it hadn't been
If it hadn't been for love
If it hadn't been
If it hadn't been for love

Thank you so much for listening to one of my favorite bluegrass bands!!!!

Sort:  

I was in a country/bluegrass/punk deal in St. Louis called The Roundups for a few years.

Like that bluegrass style!

Thanks for entering this week's #nowplaying!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70979.31
ETH 3711.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79