Now Playing: Week 4 Sleeping At Last - Atlas: Space

in #nowplaying6 years ago (edited)

Hello there!


Two days ago I found out about #nowplaying and I was thrilled to join the movement of discovering new music while sharing my own discoveries. Because, let's face it, discovering new music by myself for myself has gotten a little lonely over the years.

To me, discovering new music doesn't necessary mean finding recently released music by my favourite artists or artists that are similar to those I like. It can be that, of course, but it's not limited to it.

Most of my music discoveries consist of something I have accidentally heard that I absolutely fall in love with, only to find out the thing has been around for some 10 years while trying to understand - how could I have lived all this time without it in my life?

I may ramble on about the topic in the future, but for now I just want to dive into my Now Playing and check out what other people have posted this week.

But first, let me just leave links to posts by @nowplaying-music where you can read more about the whole initiative:


If you managed to get this far - I salute you. Your reward: My #nowplaying as follows:

  • Artist -- Sleeping at Last

Album -- Atlas: Space
Song of my choice -- Mercury
Honourable mention song -- Sun (Because of the lyrics Infinity times Infinity)

Image from the band's own online music store

The whole record consists of 11 songs, each a dedication to one planet, including the natural satellite Moon and dwarf planet Pluto. The most important thing you must know is that on the Deluxe version of their album (available on Spotify) holds both regular and instrumental versions of the songs.
I myself do feel the need for vocals, but the instrumental pieces are beautiful in their own right.
The order of the songs is mixed up on the youtube instrumental playlist, but at least they're all in one place, so I will just leave that one here. As it says on the band's own homepage, Atlas is an ongoing series of music based on the origins of the universe and life within it.

Youtube Playlist of the instrumental versions:

Spotify link to Deluxe album consisting of both instrumental and regular versions of the songs

P.S. You don't need to have Spotify application installed, simply log in or create a profile and enjoy the music on their web-app: https://open.spotify.com

I had originally planned on sharing two artists on this post, but seeing how lengthy this has gotten already, I think it will be enough for my first post to get some of you float around in our Solar system this week.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Atlas: Space or Sleeping at Last in the comments.
Don't be shy to add your own music discoveries down here or simply join in on #nowplaying with a post of your own.

Sort:  

This is some cool music. I listen to these types of tunes a lot when I work so I can focus better. I really enjoyed listening to the Atlas: Space Album going first through all the songs with vocals and then going over them again as instrumentals. Kept me going for over an hour!
Looking forward to your post next week

Happy to hear you not only checked it out, but also listened to the whole thing :)
I don't think many people find the time to listen to a whole record from start to finish nowadays, so props to you, sir!
I myself haven't gotten into the habit of putting on instrumental music to improve my concentration for working purposes, but I know I should start doing it as lots of my friends tell me they get the best results while playing something in the background, like you say you do.
Already excited for next week ^^

Lol I've got 10 hours a day at a desk with my headphones. These now playings are great because i finally have some new stuff to jam.

I know a bunch of people who have chill work music, but it varies what exactly from person to person. I used to listen to straight up white noise to block everything out (link below), then moved to really busy math rock stuff (link also below), then moved to more instrumental stuff (last link below). I'm really digging the instrumental half of that album you shared. Cheers!

I got only 8 hours of work with headphones available, but oftentimes people want to talk to me for some reason, so I can't let myself zone out completely.
And the new stuff from nowplaying is refreshing to have, and very much needed in my case. For crying out loud, my 2017 playlist didn't much differ from my 2016 one :D
Thanks for the links, will definitely give those a go.

This is such a great entry to the #nowplaying contest! Glad to have you on board @indy8phish!


UserRankPostsVotes
indy8phish2410

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66911.69
ETH 3521.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19