Now Playing Week 9 "Kimbra"

in #nowplaying6 years ago

KIMBRA "CAMEO LOVER"


Image source

You might heard of her from the famous Gotye's song. She is Kimbra. Crazily talented in writing songs and equally talented in music. Her voice is so powerful, it brought houses down. Kimbra or Kimbra Lee Johnson is a New Zealand singer and actress. The song that I picked today is from her first debut album, Vows, which was debuted and released in Australia in 2011. Her songs, for me, were a mix of jazz, rhythm and blues, and pop. I love how she arranged her songs. She won lots of awards in her career as a musician. Including "Australian Recording Industry Association Award" for this song. Not to forget that she also won "Record of the Year" and "Best Pop Duo/Group Performance" awards during the 55th Annual Grammy Awards with Gotye for their smashing hit "Somebody That I Used To Know". Her third album, Primal Heart, is going to be release in April this year.

Image source

She started writing songs at the young age of 10 and picked up the guitar by the age of 12. With the support from her family, she's able to become what she is now. I came to love her after I heard the song "Warrior" that she collaborated with Mark Foster and A Trak. I'm a big fan of Mark Foster of Foster The People by the way. I started browsing her and immediately falls in love with her music. I love her new songs but I still love listening to her first album. Where everything was still raw, for me. Her new songs out of her new upcoming album sounded modern. Here's one of my favorite songs of hers. I chose the live session because I like this better.

Let me know what you think of the song. Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Thanks for entering this week's #nowplaying!
Don't forget to upvote the nowplaying weekly post to be 'officially' entered into the #nowplaying community.

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77