About Now

in #now6 years ago

About Now (And what did it take to get there).

Dear Steem,

I'm waking up everyday with this view.
Don't always have the time to get lost into it everyday but I found myself contemplating a few times and feeling somewhat satisfied.

IMG_7740.PNG

It means something to me as I always saw myself working in the City since I've discovered my passion for understanding how businesses work and how to make money out of them.
After leaving my job in capitalist venture as an EA to CEO based in Old Street I was looking forward to move to Canary Wharf or anywhere near EC2 to climb the ladder within the corporate world in the most typical way.

This is in Battersea however, within the tiniest of team offering tailored and bespoke service within the Hospitality industry (of all places!) that I have been given the chance to develop a brand on my own at only 22;

IMG_7741.PNG

My office is located in one of those beautiful railway Arches, discreet enough to be only known by a few, even to the local SW8 Londoners.

IMG_7717.JPG

KG Catering  1.png

We deliver the most incredible events in the UK or abroad and have worked with a few very famous names, whether in the corporate world or private.

IMG_7736.PNG

The image above was for a wedding in Oxfordshire. Looking forward to go back there and travel around properly, such a beautiful, beautiful place. Makes me wonder why do so many English people are retiring to the French countryside instead.

And seriously, these are my everyday lunch. (The Chef and Director is also trained in classic French cuisine and tasting this quality of food after two years living just over broke in the UK felt like the whole world made sense again.)

LUNCHES.png

(Find us on: https://keithgoddardcatering.com)

I should not complain about any of the above right? Well, I still did. Not because I did not realise how much I've had. But because I am so goal-orientated and therefore barely living in the Now, which pains me to admit. Nothing in the world has enough appeal to make you stay when you're always on to the next thing.

Long story short, my ego was not ever entirely satisfied and I imagined myself leaving quite a few times for (what I thought was) greener pastures.
I also perceived I entered a new stage of my life at the same time however, and felt the need to stay.

The thing is, I came to the realisation that putting my suitcases down, even for a while, scares me deeply.

Leaving whatever I have built behind and setting-up something completely anew always felt like the most comfortable way to live life.
This was the only way for me to do better, be better, always in action, always aiming higher.
New beginnings and starting from zero could allow myself to reach perfection, be in complete control all over again. The truth is, it certainly doesn't.

Ultimately you have to live life and life does gets inevitably dirty sometimes.

You show up a day knowing you have badly failed the day before in whichever area of your life but you're ready to do it all again to make it right. In front of the same people who have seen you fall.
I had the feeling I would not ever be that great person again have they seen me failed once. When I have (truly) failed and still decided to stay for the first time, this is when I have realised I was wrong.

Do not ever expect to achieve great things leaving and re-build a different project after a first (great) defeat.

It takes strength to find the fine balance between leaving it all behind when you must accept this won't ever work-out or found that there is still some ground to believe, and go for it no matter what.

Falling and picking yourself up won't ever allow you to be perfect. But it does allow you to be happy.
Building-up something around you while feeling rooted in the Now makes you appreciative of what you have, no matter how little it is. Gratefulness then allow you to invest in your future projects properly. I would not ever recommend the other way around.

There is something beautiful about accepting things as they are even when do we accept that 1/they are not perfect. 2/we will not endlessly work towards making them so. Accepting things as they are in their current state of Now is the only step to make anything worthy enough, To You.

Writing about it now makes me realise that I love my Now. No matter how much is still to achieve out there, I feel like this is the best place to build-up from.

When you don't belong somewhere have the courage to leave by all means, even when it pushes you far out from your comfort then. You will be right to do so.
When you feel there is still something left to do, no matter how uncomfortable those things might be, have the courage to stay and work your way through.

Today is about the strength to stay. This is how I got my Now and what it did take to get me there.


Thanks so much for reading this. I love hearing about people's experiences and adventures all over the world, if you have something you'd like to share tell me all about it below.

Sort:  

When you don't belong somewhere have the courage to leave by all means, even when it pushes you far out from your comfort then. You will be right to do so.
When you feel there is still something left to do, no matter how uncomfortable those things might be, have the courage to stay and work your way through.

Great final points! And what a lovely place to work (and eat lunch everyday!!!) hahahahaha You've been quiet a bit this past week... nice to see you writing :)
@dreemsteem, for the Welcome Wagon

Thanks so much for your support @dreemsteem

Unfortunately I have barely the time to do anything else during the week! So it's kinda the plan to post once weekly during the weekend… Hopefully will get organised enough to post biweekly in the near future.
Thanks again, good to hear from you x

Then we will look forward to your weekly posts ;)

Congratulations @parisianlondoner! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15