Utopia.

in #novelslast year

image.png

Been going through some of the Utopian classics lately. More's Utopia, Campanella's City of the Sun, Bacon's New Atlantis, and I gotta say...

What a shitty literary device the entire genre is, and how piss poor every author drawn to it seems to be at their craft, from Eden to Plato's Guardians, from More to Marx...

To those who have read good Utopian fiction, if such a thing actually exists, could you recommend what you like? I don't think stuff like Asimov or Starfleet count, because imagined good is not perfection and they include too many conflicts to be included.

I loved all the Foundation series, and obviously I love Heinlein... But I admit there's a lot of Heinlein I haven't read. I think most libertarians have read Moon is a Harsh Mistress or Starship Troopers, and I read Double Star a month or two ago for the first time, but I think that might be it and I wouldn't include any of the three as Utopian. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45