My First Novel (Teaser Chapter 1)

in #novel8 years ago

This is my first gay novel of others that i am currently working on. None of these stories have ever been published or even left my computer but Steemit has given me the confidence to do that, all constructive criticism/feedback is very welcome. the story is about 80% complete but this is just the first chapter of many, enjoy =D

That's My Boy

Most days I could be found in Spiro’s cafe down by the water front. I enjoyed the views and people watching. Who knows I might even get lucky and score. Not that that had had happened in a long while but that was the name of the game, to keep hoping that that someone special would enter your life so you keep looking.

The cafe was the usual type you find in this part of Greece and reflected the seasons being quiet in the winter and overly busy, dusty and hot at the height of the summer tourist invasion.

 I could usually get a seat when I came in, though, as I didn’t mind being up against the counter because from there you could view the entire cafe, inside and out, as well as have a reasonably clear view of the harbour-side. Besides, Spiro made the best coffee in town. Believe me I’d tried them all!

 So I’m sat in my usual place and doodling some ideas in my mind while keeping the usual eye out. When, I became distracted by the latest arrival at the counter. How had I missed him? More worryingly was if I had missed this beautiful creature how many more had escaped my, so called, watchful gaze?

 He was dressed in the usual jeans and tee-shirt and you could clearly see the fine blond hairs on his right arm caught in the sunlight. From his right shoulder, hung a large satchel, that gave him a schoolboy look. He had obviously been out in the sun for some time which had tanned his face and the perspiration was running over his smooth cheeks. Certainly it was a boyish look but you could clearly see the man in there too, which made him even more attractive. Early twenties was my guess and not short of admirers I’m sure I thought to myself.

 He ordered coffee in Greek. That was a surprise as most tourists couldn’t even be bothered to learn such simple phrases and expected everyone to speak their native language.

 “No, No I’m English” he was saying to Spiro in reply to his question. It was obvious his Greek was limited but full marks for trying I thought. So I went to his rescue before Spiro could have any more fun at his expense. “He’s not asking you about your nationality. He asked if you wanted your coffee Americano style” I said.

 He turned to face me and flashed one of those perfect teeth smiles and said “Oh thanks, my Greek is a little limited and I just picked up on the word Americano and assumed he thought from my accent I was an American.”   He then turned and faced Spiro who stood there with that amused little smile of his on his face and I knew he was enjoying himself at the expense of yet another young tourist. Well, for Spiro it brightened his day and helped him get through an otherwise uninteresting working life.

 The young man repeated his order declaring he wanted it white and adding a bottle of water as well.

 Spiro nodded and quickly set about fulfilling the order as the young man fiddled around trying to find his wallet and get some money out to pay with. Spiro timed it perfectly as the money appeared in the young-man’s hand he placed the order on the counter and grasped the note from the guy’s hand muttering his inflated tourist price for coffee and a small bottle of water.

 Scraping the change off the counter and bundling it all into his jeans pocket he picked up the bottle in his left hand and in his right the cup of coffee on a saucer and turned towards me. As he did so the strap on his satchel slid down from his shoulder and caught in the crook of his arm. The weight of the satchel forced his arm up and the cup jumped from the saucer spilling coffee everywhere.

 “Damn!” he said in an exasperated tone. He looked clearly flustered and distraught. I don’t consider myself a knight in shining armour but I don’t like to see anyone distressed and so I went to his aid again.

Telling him not to worry, accidents happen and guiding him to the vacant chair at my table I got him sat down while I called over to Spiro to get another coffee for him and me and I would pay but not tourist prices and a cloth to mop up some of the spilt coffee from the young-man’s clothes and he might need a mop for the floor as it was slippy and could be dangerous. Spiro went into his gruff mode acknowledging my requests but couldn’t help laughing to himself.

 Having placed his satchel on the back of the chair the evidence of the spilt coffee showed; his tee-shirt around his stomach had taken the worst of it. I picked up the saucer and placed it on the counter with the overturned cup on it and returned to my seat.

 Before I could say anything further, Spiro shuffled up to us and placed our coffees on the table in front of us and said to me in Greek “so you rescue the little one eh. I hope he is grateful” and gave me one of his leering winks.

 “I didn’t do it for gratitude or anything I said and besides he’s English.” 

“Oh yes I forgot you English like to stick together.” 

And without waiting for a reply he shuffled off to his place behind the counter where I’m sure he would be listening in to our conversation.

 As I turned and faced the young-man and looked into the most beautiful pair of green eyes which again was a surprise as I was expecting them to be blue. He said “I am grateful to you and I’m sure you didn’t do it for any reward.”

 His Greek is good enough to follow that conversation, I thought, he is full of surprises. Then he reached across and offered his hand as he said “my name is Ben” 

“Hi nice to meet you” I said firmly grasping his hand and shaking it “My name is Andrew and I’m definitely Andrew not Andy or even the Scottish variant Drew although around here I’m called Andreas in Greek. “and that’s Spiro” I said indicating the barman with a nod of my head and he speaks reasonable English although with an American accent having learnt from one of those language courses and of course listening to the American radio.” All this while I’d managed to hang on to his hand and finally realising I released my grip and as I did we received a little frisson of static electricity which made us both smile and simultaneously look away and down at our coffees.

 “Andreas you are a very bad man telling all my secrets especially to strangers” and with that Spiro threw a drying up cloth at my head which I caught with a laugh and said “but you have so many secrets letting one out makes room for more” which was paraphrasing a Greek saying into English. Spiro began mopping the floor which I felt was more of an excuse to get closer to us and listen in to the conversation.

 “True true” said Spiro laughing and then suddenly moving away to attend to a new customer who had entered the cafe.

I handed Ben the cloth and told him to wipe up the coffee off his clothes as much as possible but even in this short time it had pretty much dried out leaving his tee-shirt stiff and with a large brown stain on the front. “Never mind” I said “it will rinse out in cold water”

 “Sure” he said not sounding convinced. “The end of a perfect day” he added while he continued to rub himself over with the cloth and his tee-shirt rucked up to reveal a glimpse of a perfectly smooth firm stomach above his belt line before his shirt fell back into place. “Why?” I asked more to steer my mind away from amorous thoughts than out of genuine interest.

 “Oh just one thing after another” he said first I was late for an appointment and having rushed to get there the person I was supposed to meet was not in and wasn’t coming in so in effect had cancelled but hadn’t bothered to tell me. Then I went off to the tourist office for my next appointment only to find two old dears waiting for me but to say with this heat they felt they were not up to a guided tour today but slipped me some money for my trouble and hoped we could arrange something another day and perhaps at an earlier hour. Then I came here to throw coffee over myself and make myself into an idiot. And, Oh, the reason I was late in the first place was because I was hanging around waiting for a carpenter who my landlord had sent round to fix the lock on my room which doesn’t work properly which I think is because it’s been picked a few times. So there you are.” he said leaning back in his chair and fixing me with a gaze and tossing the cloth on to the table. In that instant he reminded me of a teenager so to get away from that thought and because I enjoyed listening to him talk and hearing English spoken without an accent, I asked “Is that what you do? A tourist guide I mean.

 “Yes” he said “Sort of” as he wriggled on his chair and lent forward to rest his forearms on the table in a confidential manner before continuing he took a sip of his coffee. “I came here to practice and improve my Greek but also for the sun and history of this place which I just love and so I want to stay but I have to earn a living so I volunteered to do some sight-seeing trips for the tourist office and through them I got some more work taking English speaking tourists to see properties they might be interested in buying because the agents doesn’t  speak English and I have some knowledge of French and German as well so they pay me a small retainer and I help out when they need me but the meeting this morning was with another agency who thinks they can use me full-time which would be very useful. Anyway that’s enough about me. What are you doing here? Are you on holiday?”

 “No” I answered carefully thinking about how much to tell but deciding to be open and honest as I expect people to be with me. “I live here and have done so for the last five years. I fell in love with the place when I first came here on holiday when I would be about your age and have been coming back every year since and I’ve visited most of the Greek Islands but for me this is the best so five years ago I decided to make the break and came to live here and bought an old property at the back of the town which I’ve done up. I supplement my income by doing some writing, some translation work and over the winter I teach some English and do adult classes for foreigners who want to learn Greek.”

 “So that’s why you’ve got a great tan”

 “I guess so, the weather here is great and I’m out and about most days and my one luxury was to install an outside pool at the house which I use a lot and as it’s not overlooked and I don’t have any near neighbours I can sunbathe naked and I take full advantage whenever I can.”

 “Sounds great” he said and smiled at me. 

“Well you’ve got a pretty good tan yourself” I said looking him fully in the face. “Yeah, but it’s not an all over, only from walking around and the occasional trip to the beach; but I’ve only been here three weeks and it’s coming on. My priority was to get somewhere to live and then a job so I’ve not had much time to think about sun bathing but I usually tan easily I’m lucky that way especially with my colouring and fair skin.”

 “Have you been here before?”

 “Yes, once. I came here when I was at University studying classical civilisation and I loved the place and so with nothing for me in England I decided to come here and make a fresh start. I’ve rented out my flat in England and so I have a little money coming in but I still need to work.”

 “So whereabouts in England are you from?”

 “Oh you’ve probably never heard of it but it’s called Ludlow, in Shropshire.” 

“Never, I don’t believe it.!” I gasped almost choking on the sip of coffee I was just taking. 

“Why? What is it?”

 “Oh just a great coincidence because I was born there and lived there till I was about 17 and then my parents moved so my Dad could be near his work and then I went off to Uni and I’ve never been back since. It was the castle there that inspired my love of history. So we’re both Shropshire lads. What are the odds of us meeting up like this?”

 “Perhaps its kismet” Ben said and laughed.

 “Well you’ll have to come over to the house now. We’ve got lots to talk about if you don’t mind thinking and reminiscing about our home town.”

 “No, not at all. I’d like that I don’t get home sick or anything besides I’d like to use your pool and work on my tan while we talk if you don’t mind.”

 “Not at all I think that would be wonderful and I’d welcome the company it’s been a while since I had a visitor.” I stammered as visions of this lovely young-man naked flitted before my eyes and I could feel my cock stiffening in my shorts.

 “So you live alone. You’re not married or anything?”

“Yes, all alone, single and fancy free as they say but I should tell you I am gay.”

 “That’s OK so am I.” He said and gave me a big smile.

 “Great but I don’t want you to get the wrong idea. I’m not into quickies and one night stands. Call me old fashioned and it perhaps explains why I’m still single but I don’t like the gay scene and the casualness of relationships. I want someone I can settle down with and trust completely, who is not going to be going off having quickies in the local toilets with any Tom, Dick or Spiro and while it would be wonderful to get involved with someone like you I need you to understand the score.”

 “I do understand and it’s good to hear someone else say the sort of things I think about. Obviously I’ve been on the gay scene and I still enjoy going to dance and listen to the music but not for casual sex. It’s another reason I wanted to get out of England and see what it was like out here. I’m not stupid and I know with my looks everyone sees a twink and loads of guys come on to me but like you say I’m looking for something more sincere than most want to offer and I’ve come across those who promise they are into the same thing only to get inside your pants and then all of a sudden you’re incompatible and they’re off with someone else.” Ben’s voice had changed as he said this and there was a strong hint of bitterness in the latter part and his eyes were cast down.

 “Hey don’t get sad, come on drink up and I’ll take you home and besides I’ve got what looks like a great body to view naked and nothing enhances a beautiful body more than a happy smiley face.”

 “I like the sound of this but if you’re talking about my body I think you might be disappointed.”

 “Well let me be the judge of that.” I laughed and gave him wink.

 He smiled and said “Anyway you’re not the only one with a body to look forward to seeing naked. You’re not so bad looking yourself.” And he looked me straight in the eye as if to emphasize the point.

 I liked what I had heard and seen so far and this had all the promise of an interesting experience.

 I stood up hurriedly hoping to hide my ripening erection and walked over to Spiro and paid the bill as he winked at me and asked in Greek “are you taking the little one home?” 

“Yes I am and he’s interesting so I’m looking forward to getting to know him a little better.”

 “I’m sure you are” he said and gave me a wink.

 “You’re incorrigible” I said and turned to leave as Ben came and stood alongside me. “Come on” I said to him. “My car is just around the corner”.

 We left together and headed for my car with me leading and guiding and on one occasion our hands touched and to me it felt great and I just hope Ben felt the same. Only time will tell I thought. Don’t rush this nor blow it, just go with the flow and let him lead I told myself. “Here we are” I said indicating my little dust coated, dented and very dilapidated car which because of its state didn’t rate being stolen and because of its size was perfect for getting around the island. Well, those were my well worn excuses for owning this piece of crap. “OK” was all Ben managed to say as he stood by the passenger door.

 We got in and the first part of the journey was in silence as I concentrated on the bends and avoiding the oncoming traffic. As we neared home and the traffic lessened I looked over towards Ben and asked how old he was. I didn’t mean it to be as blunt as it came out but it was on my mind.

 “I know you think I look young for my age but I’m 25 and 26 next birthday in November and I’ve got my passport with me if you want to look.” And he looked across at me defiantly. “Are you happy with this?” I asked.

 “Stop worrying. Of course I am or I wouldn’t have agreed to come with you in the first place and I would not be sitting here now if I didn’t feel comfortable so just relax. I think I know what’s going on in your mind but don’t worry. I dig older guys they’re more comfortable with who and what they are. I’ve never slept with one or even had one as a boyfriend but I have friends who are around your age and older and that is the impression I get from them and besides I’ve had enough of guys my age and younger and perhaps it’s time I had the courage of my convictions and dated an older guy but let’s just see what happens I don’t want either of us under any pressure.

 “I agree and sorry I asked but I needed to know the score.”

 “Well now you do” he said as I parked in the driveway of the house.
 

Sort:  

Well this was received terribly looks like i won't be posting any more chapters/novels here LMAO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64