You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moby Dick (The White Whale): When My English Is So Weak It's A Challenge To Read A Good Novel Like This.

in #novel7 years ago

Moby Dick is challenging for native speakers as well. Those phrases you have bolded are beautiful, but I don't think they lend themselves to easy images in your mind. Except the 'methodically knocking people's hats off' - what an image! That alone makes me want to reread this book.

It is true that many novels you can choose are going to be simpler than Moby Dick (or most books considered classics). You have such a wonderful grasp of the White Whale - I hope that you can conquer this book. In fact - conquering this book could even be your White Whale. Keep writing. I enjoy your style.

Sort:  

I'll do... I'm glad to know that this is challenging for Natives too... really glad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59370.83
ETH 2591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46