Chapter Thirty Eight - Louis Berry's Novel - ErstwhilesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #novel8 years ago

Chapter Thirty-Eight

The runner had come with the contract. Richard signed it and the boy eagerly left to take it back to his boss. Richard was a bit melancholy as he realized that this property would no longer be in his family. It had been owned by several generations and because of him, that time had ended. There were still several things to do before he and Susan could end their time in Erstwhile. It was a thought that scared them as well as excited them to learn what lay ahead.
 He took Susan’s car to the store for the final preparations. It was odd not having any responsibility during a day in the middle of the week. He drove down the two-lane highway and passed several new homes being built on lots that had sat vacant since being plat-ted during reconstruction. Carpenters worked hard, busying about each house. It was a time of prosperity for Erstwhile. Knowing that there were certain people in town who would do everything in their power to keep others from benefiting from that wealth was some-thing that Richard had no desire to participate in nor did he know how to stop their erstwhile ways. When this thought crossed his mind, he felt like a quitter, but he knew there had to be something he could do. A smile slowly engulfed his face. He knew exactly what that was.
 He continued to drive along the coastal high-way, only his destination was not the store. Two city blocks east of Maine Street was Hale Street. It housed the professional offices; the doctors, lawyers and accountants. Richard turned down the road and began looking at all the signs searching for the office of a law-yer he knew by reputation only. When he found it, he drove into the parking lot and brought the car to a stop.
 Richard walked inside and introduced himself to the secretary. She asked him to have a seat in the waiting room and said that the attorney would be with him momentarily. Before sitting down he asked, “Do you have any stationary and an envelope that I could have?”
 “I think so. Let me look,” the secretary said. She looked around behind the counter. The only thing she found that looked suitable had the attorney’s name on it. She handed it to him. “You’re not going to do any-thing illegal with this are you?”
 Richard smiled. “No ma’am. I just want to write a note to a friend and I’ll be sure to sign my name.” He walked over and sat in a chair. Leaning forward, he laid the piece of paper on a stout magazine on the coffee table and lifted them both as he sat back. He placed them in his lap and began to pen a note.

Talitha,

 Please forgive me for not speaking to you before I made a unilateral decision forcing you into a life that you may not wish to lead. However, there is something inside me that is sure you will make the most of this opportunity. I’m sorry that I have to leave without saying anything to you, but Susan and I have chosen our path together, and given your and my history together I don’t wish to give you another chance to say ‘no’ to me.
 As I have had the occasion to think about the life I have led, and to take stock in it, I realize that an existence void of people to emu-late does not a life make. If there is one piece of advice I can offer, look for the people who instill hope in you; they are truly the unselfish ones.
 I know there will come a time when you and I will have the opportunity to meet again. At that time I hope that you will feel happy to have known me. I know that I am happy to have known you.

    Sincerely,


    Richard

 When Richard finished, he folded it neatly and placed it in the matching envelope. Another twenty minutes passed as he thumbed through the pages of a Bass Master magazine. Finally, he realized there was no reason to wait on someone who was making him do so simply to feed his ego. He stood and walked toward the secretary.

Richard handed the envelope to her. On the out-side he had written Talitha’s name. “Would you have another piece of paper?” he asked.
Without a word, she handed him another sheet of stationary. On it he wrote Talitha’s name and the ad-dress of the store.
Richard held the paper up so that the secretary could read it. He pointed to each individual item on the paper and gave his instructions to her. “I want Mr. Brown to draw up a deed for this store, conveying ownership from me to this young lady. When he has done so call me and I will come and do whatever is necessary. Please make sure that Miss Keys gets that envelope along with the deed.” The secretary said nothing, so Richard asked, “Do you think you’ve got it?”
She smiled. “Yes, sir.”
Richard exited the office, free of the final bur-den that had been placed upon him by his family.

Sort:  

Watch out! Posting more than 4 content posts a day can result in a lower payout. Guide to the posting structure can be found here.

Thank you, Haster. The reason I've posted so many is that it is one of my novels. I'm not spamming, I just wanted to get the whole book posted, by chapter.

Interesting thoughts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60535.47
ETH 2656.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46