Fireflies in The Dark Continent. Chapter 6

in #novel7 years ago

I was asleep, it was past midnight about a week after the white men had left Oride when a sudden ruckus broke out around town. 

I remember waking up intermittently and wondering what in the six high heavens was going on before I promptly returned to sleep.   My mind was at rest because there had been no raids or battles in Iju since the revolution. 

My peace of mind fleeting as my sleep was promptly cut short with the repeated sounds of loud knocking on our front door.  Ashti stirred in her dream and mumbled a few words. By now the ruckus had gotten much closer and I was wide awake.  

I got up from my beddings and promptly started for the door. 

What could be so urgent at this time?” 

A hushed voice asked me. I turned round and saw Ashti; poor soul, she was drenched in sweat and hadn’t slept well in days.   

“Do not worry, go back to sleep”

I replied in a hushed tone. I continued to the door; yawning at length as I opened front door. Before me was Oluma, one of Omur Alamsi’s bushy bearded messengers. I repeated my wife’s previous enquiry to him. He boldly replied 

Iju needs you; all men are to gather at the town hall immediately”. 

His reply startled me, he had left before I could ask any follow up questions. As I walked back toward the room. I wondered what Iju could need me for.  

Ashti seemed even more surprised and confused than I was, when I told her who was at the door and why he was there. I promised to be back before dawn. I wore my cleanest clothes and headed out.   

I lived on the northwestern edge of town, and even from there you could feel the town was agog with a buzz unlike any before. It was strange as the first rooster had not yet crowed. I picked up my pace and almost ran the whole way to the town hall.  

Sort:  

Lovely work!

Thanks flo

Thanks I will learn

I upvoted and followed to you

Thanks man. You're appreciated

I've followed you right back

Another great story! Thanks for sharing these chapters. They always keep me captivated and wanting more. Looking forward to the next one you have to share :)

Thanks man. It's good to know that I have people following; even if it's just a handful

You're very appreciated

Keep up the good work brother :)

The story continues to unfold :) Keep writing my friend.

This was very nice @feekayo! :)

Thanks @aishwarya. Glad to see you're enjoying it

Congratulations @feekayo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59972.21
ETH 2389.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42