Adventures in the Acadian Forest [Victoria Park, in Nova Scotia, Canada]

in #novascotia6 years ago (edited)

You wouldn't be wrong to call this an "enchanted" forest! For what is not enchanted that has felt the warm rays of the Spring sun and drank the glorious Spring rains?

The Green Forests of Nova Scotia.jpg

The American Red Squirrel calls the Acadian Forests home, you will commonly hear them barking at you from high atop the forest canopy or from a low hanging tree branch, but if not you can always tell they are close by when you see the shavings of their food laying all around you on the forest floor.

In The Forest.jpg

The Garter Snake also calls these woods home! I caught this little guy basking in the warm rays of the sun for a few minutes before he slipped back into his mossy den. What a special little creature!

Garter Snake (Thamnophis Sirtalis).jpg

Later on during my hike, as the sun was going down for the day, Natures music increased in volume, until nothing could be heard over it.

[Click the link for the video!]

https://flic.kr/p/25eB5sP

Finally, just as the sun was about to set, I made my way down to Joseph Howe Falls and felt the mist from the Falls gently pepper my skin (and my camera lens!).
Joseph Howe Falls.jpg

April 27th of 2018 couldn't have been any better, I even had an owl fly directly over my head as I made my entrance into the great nurturer and protectress commonly referred to as just "the forest".

You can check out the rest of my photography here.

Sort:  

What incredible beauty! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you friend!

Good write up and pictures William! These stories are the kind I like to read here. Don't be put off by the low rewards and viewings at the moment. I was here a few months ago. With a low rank and following good work can just get lost in the chaff. Keep working at it till you rise above! Looking forward to seeing more of your work. :-)

Thank you for the kind words and encouragement! I'm happy to come across someone who celebrates the natural world as much as I do.

Congratulations @thenovascotian! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58