Nottingamshire

in #nottingham6 years ago

What? You’ve never heard of Nottinghamshire? Where have you been? When I first saw the name on a map you probably know what immediately came to mind don’t you? Yep, Nottingham, Sherwood Forest and Robin Hood. I mean, come on, you’ve never been?

You guessed it, I did a bit of research, checked the web for upcoming events and managed to make my way to the Shire several times. Here area a couple areas I'll cover on other posts.

Nottinghamshire – North of Huntingdon, just a short drive and like the rest of Britain, filled with things to do.

Nottingham – I didn’t see the Sheriff but in all fairness, didn’t look either. Best to lay low and take pictures for later. If you paid any attention to your history while growing up or read anything regarding English history you inevitably ran in to some story involving Nottingham I bet. So, as I’ve said before, Off I went on my adventure to Nottingham. I quickly found a parking spot and began wandering. Nottingham seemed to be a large city with an industrial feel to it. Not at all the Robin Hood atmosphere I was expecting but an actual city. Oh, and there’s a university there as well. How would you like to graduate from Nottingham University?

This place is quite active as any university town normally is and has a variety of places to eat up your time and provide interesting things to do. Some of the more interesting venues I was able to track down were the National Ice Centre, the National Water Sports Centre, Trent Bridge Test cricket ground, two Football League teams, Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club and Nottingham Panthers ice hockey team. The universities are quite large with a combined student body of over 60,000 students (Nottingham Trent University and the University of Nottingham)

The city also has two large-capacity theatres, a bunch of museums and art galleries, the Broadway Cinema and several live music venues. The two I found were the Nottingham Arena and Rock City and they are important and large enough to host major UK and international artists.

robin hood festival   8-8-2010 11-04-015 - Copy.jpg
I did the tourist thing and spent quite a bit of time wandering around the city, browsing in the stores and just wandering. I ended up having a bite to eat and some coffee but I was really there to get my bearings, and a feel for the city. My real goal was to visit Sherwood Forest. That is another page. Be sure to take a look

Sherwood Forest – How could anyone live with themselves if they never once visited this place while living in the United Kingdom? I of course, went. More on this in another post

Robin Hood – I saw a festival advertised in his honor and put it in my to do list which I eventually crossed off. More on this in another post

https://wp.me/P3CC9J-6vq

Wizard of Where

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99