Steemit can not handle large files?

in #notfunny6 years ago (edited)

The last two posts I made left a sour taste in my mouth.

I used Steempeak to schedule them, went off to sleep and thought all was well.

Turns out every gif that was >1.0mb wasn't playing.

I had to delete, resize then upload it back before they could play.

On Steempeak front-end, the story was different. Everything still worked normally.

Makes me wonder why the blockchain's major front-end will be otherwise.

Someone needs to sunset this crap off.

Sort:  


Attempt 2, Branches! My first gif didn’t work... ooh, the irony.

It's an epidemic lol

I think it is because steemit adds that stupid proxy or cdn whatever it is called steemitimages before all images which effectively downloads the file, so they are actually wasting their own damn space and should leave images alone


@meesterboom and whom it may concern :)

Since they cap the uploads this cap is implemented through that url thingy they do and since they apply that url thingy to every image they serve all images get hit by the limit no matter the source.

This makes sense for a fast frontend but also means they are downloading files to their servers anyway and here I was thinking they want to save money :) Lazy load the shit then instead or something, steemit is till my favourite frontend though. It is the fastest, does not have a load of fancy shit buttons that really do fuckol and feels archaic. I like it.

!tipuvote 0.1

It's my favourite front end also because it's clean and simple!

I noticed that GIFs I load on busy don't work but in Steemit itself I can load GIFs up to 10 meg?

I don't use Busy at all.

For me, Steemit struggles with gifs above 1mb.

Then again, it might just be that me using 3G network is the reason. I can't tell for sure.

It might be something error. I struggle to find GIFs less than 1 Meg!

This post is supported by $0.13 @tipU upvote funded by @penderis :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83