World's Largest Beaver Dam Can Be Viewed From Space

in #notanotherbeaverpost6 years ago (edited)

In Alberta, Canada there is a remote forest area named the Wood Buffalo National Park. It's so remote it takes 3 days trekking over land through swamps and dense bush to get to it. In 2007 satellite images picked up the image of a massive structure there that before hadn't been viewed by man.

article-1272045-096B5C3D000005DC-605_634x386.jpg

An explorer named Rob Mark set out to find the structure in 2008 but his first attempt failed due to bad weather. However that didn't stop him, months later he picked up the quest again and battled mosquitos so thick he said they sounded like helicopters and were far worse than those he had experienced in the Amazon.

He pushed through soft ground and thick foilage armed with information from Google Earth and topographical maps, while sleeping in a hammock long enough to recharge and continue his quest.

Then he finally reached a sight few if any humans have ever discovered, an 850 metre long beaver dam. It's twice the length of the Hoover Dam and can be easily recognized from space. It's the largest animal structure on the planet.

beaver-dam.jpg

Ecologists believe the beavers began constructing the dam in 1975. They used logs, sticks and mud to build a structure so strong it would require dynamite to destroy it.

beaver-dam-in-northwestern-ontario.jpg
Credit: cbc.ca

Researchers believe the dam is home to many families of beavers that each built their own "lodges" and worked together to connect them to form one massive safe zone.

Beavers use their dams to control water and make moats they can swim in to evade predators. Inside they have caverns they sleep in and raise their young.

beaver-2.jpg

Beavers are incredible builders. They use their teeth to chew through trees and the bouyancy of the water to push or pull the logs into position. They then use moss and mud to pack it all in and create waterproof safe zones that they call home.

beaver_thumb_398x400.jpg

This is my second post about beavers, what can I say us Canadians love our furry lil water rodents 😊 I think this will probably be my last but no promises. I hope you enjoyed the story!

Thanks for reading,

@goldenarms

U5drXbkie6zPRb5oB7BRTdSUeewiCTW_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Thanks, @goldenarms for pointing out that us beavers are awesome contractors! There is a reason they are Canada's national animal! I need to post some photos of our awesome construction projects here at the beach. Our wall can be seen by google satellite!

I do these stories solely for u Ceci 😊 Hope you enjoyed it!

I always love your posts, @goldenarms!

Perfect story sir. Beavers are awesome in way to construct their home..

Yeah they're pretty cool. Fantastic builders! Thanks for reading @bien

My pleasure @goldenarms ,i love to read that kind of story :)

Thanks for stopping by my blog 👊😎

Ok thanks don,t worry

Yikes, as old as me! Wowzer!

Lol well u look 27 so no worries 😊

Aren't you the sweetest, dude!!!

I wanted to upvote this, but I don't want others to think I'm bigheaded 😂😂😂😂

I LOVE your beaver stories...don't stop !! I'm so glad that this is so far from anyone, amazing what can happen when Man's not around. I can't get my head round it really...I took a third look at the photo's and then I noticed the man standing by the dam..good grief !!! that definitely puts it into perspective. Those animals are truly amazing, I stand in awe of them.

Me too, thx for stopping by my friend!

Only fit for a Canadian to talk about a beaver damn.
Impressive it was large enough to be seen by satellites.

Haha yeah I hadn't heard about this damn beaver story until yesterday. I'm not gonna go see it tho 😊

That would make for an awesome post.
Maybe if we become Steemit millionaires I will quit work and make the hike with you.

WOW nature never fails to amaze me sometimes and this is ne of those times the fact they could build somehting that hinge is incredible

Yeah it's pretty amazing! Thanks for checking out my story Jay 😎

Your welcome and a pleasure was so interesting to read

These beavers are too smart. This is the start of a planet of the apes type scenario if you ask me. 😀

Yeah you're probably right lol

That's insane. That must have took awhile for them to build

42 years they believe..and still going. Most of its overgrown now and that's why there's not too many good pictures of it, it just looks like land upclose

It's amazing how fast they build too. I am trying to find a good balance and partnership in my yard with them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66186.23
ETH 3494.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17