A new day a new platform

in #not4 years ago (edited)

Hello

Just discovering Steemit, I've come to make a post and see what the community is all about.

My name is Yintii and I am an amalgamation of skills and knowledge, but I'd mostly consider myself an artist or creator. I paint and draw, write code for various things, and read about investment opportunities usually. I like to connect with people and make meaningful connections.

I am here in Arizona, just moving from Texas this past fall. I moved here for work and just to get a new lease on life. I hated living in Houston for all the years I did, and once I could find a job elsewhere I did. There were jobs around me, but nothing I qualified for. Getting interviews in states I didn't even live in made me think it was time for a change.

I have had a lot of personal struggles with my ability and identity over the last few years. I gave up on my artistic passions and just stopped working on them. I'm getting back to developing that skill set though. There's just so much in your life that can make you dread the things you once loved. It's important to regain those parts of yourself when you've healed I think. I have been saving up my money however and just decided to treat myself (as I often don't) and got myself an iPad for art.

Besides art, I obviously mentioned I write code as well. I don't want to say I am a programmer though. Something about that feels pretentious. Maybe it's imposter syndrome poking it's head out disguised as shame, or pride, idk.

I develop web apps, at my most complex. Not great ones either, just, apps.

I lack passion for this kind of work though, but I don't want to just shelf all the work and time I invested in learning how to program. So, I decided to make more of what I like. I originally got into programming in high school because I wanted to make video games. After discovering what a daunting task that is, I went with simpler web stuff.

That was years ago now though, and I'm feeling like if I was going to be a programmer I might as well be a video game programmer!

I have been working on that skillset in tandem with the other web set though. It's not something I gave up on but knew I wasn't capable yet.

However, now that I am a much more seasoned dev and not that bad of an artist, I wanted to mesh it together and make some games.

Many attempts over the years were really just incognito learning experiences, and now another attempt is in the works. It feels better this time, more whole. The fundamentals are laid down a lot better and I like how I'm moving through it's development.

Learning of investing and blockchain brought me here.

So let's go I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62149.46
ETH 2438.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68