Let your memories die

The title is overly dramatic but, my point is, don’t try and relive old memories, they don’t live up to your own hype. I saw Netflix had Little Monsters in their titles and, I’m dating myself here, I remember loving this movie as a kid. I wanted to tap into some of that childhood nostalgia because as the years go by I lose some of that kid in me. Pretty sure that feeling is stored in the same place as my hair follicles. So, I started watching the movie and lost all respect for the young version of myself. I don’t even know who I am anymore, and could be misremembering my entire life up until yesterday because the movie was awful. I remember doing the running man for a 2nd grade talant show and killing it (don’t ask me why we thought basically only doing the running man for 3 and a half minutes was a talant). Maybe I was more Elaine from Seinfeld than M.C Hammer. Maybe my wiffle ball curve wasn’t as unhittable. Maybe it wasn’t sad when macaulay culkin died in My Girl. Ok that last one went too far, I still cry when Thomas J goes back for those glasses but you get the point. We create this grandiose idea of things in the past that don’t quite measure up to the legend. Every time grandpa tells the story of walking to school the distance gets further and the snow gets higher. Anyone else recently get caught up in the nostalgia only to get let down?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37