No Soliciting!...Seriously don't ring the bell

in #nosoliciting7 years ago

Hurry, hide, turn off the tv, turn off the lights, here comes a solicitor. How many times have you done this? I know I have a million times over the years. Two of my biggest pet peeves are, 1. being late and 2. solicitors. egh!!no soliciting.jpg

I don't know what it is about solicitors, but I really hate when they come to the door. I know, I know, ya'll that don't mind are probably saying right now. "But what if it's something you "want" to buy?" And I'm thinking, If I want to buy something, I'll just go to the damn store, buy it online, or call someone. I don't need someone coming to my door interrupting "my" time. I could be having a moment with family and or friends. I could be taking a nap because I had insomnia the night before or someone in our household just got home from work from pulling an all-nighter (Military folks do this) Or whatever....and then "ding dong" Solicitor Interrupted.

And don't get me started on when they pretend they don't see the sticker in the window or by the door bell. Well, I went and made me a sign, a RED sign in fact. It's right there, clear as day. This also goes for religious folk that feels the need to go to one's door to sell someone on their religion. Don't do it. When you see the No Soliciting sign, just walk away. It's the same thing. You are selling and bothering others in their space.

I know kids need to get their fundraiser items sold, and I understand that. I was a mom that had to get out and sell raffle tickets and candy bars to help pay for my kids' uniforms. But I never went door to door. I sold them at work, in the parking lot of a football game, or at the night club, I went to. (hint: most were drunk anyway so they would buy the most...lol ) Call, PM on Facebook or text your neighbor and ask them if they want to purchase something. Make an appointment when they have the time. JMO

So, yeah, seriously, don't ring the bell at my house. Or anyone's house that has a sign "NO SOLICITING" Give a little respect.

Sort:  

I've been seriously considering putting a sign on our door, too. I always get fired up to do it (to make one) ... then by the time I get out the supplies, I've calmed down and the fire of rage has been extinguished.

I really like the addition of "don't make it weird" on your sign. :D

@jamiesewsplastic lol I hear ya. Thank you. I had been wanting to make one for a long time and finally got around to it. I actually make signs using my cricut machine, vinyl, wood and chalk paint. A new hobby I started a few months ago. I can't wait to see if the sign works or not. Since we have cameras, I will be able to look back and see if I want. lol You should make one, with this quote, the sign becomes a fun sign..lol

Congratulations @thisismenow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

woo hoo! :) I'm on my way lol Still trying to figure this all out, but I guess it will take time.
Thank you

Congratulations @thisismenow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57343.93
ETH 3104.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12