Feeding my worms !

in #norway7 years ago (edited)

I've not fed my worms in two weeks, and they're bound to be quite hungry!
As I told you earlier, I really need to make compost fast! So I'm making my worms a smoothie!
20170729_113834.jpg
Some wild picked dandelion (it's everywhere...) and random organic scraps from the kitchen :)
I add as little water as I can, just to barely make everything to a big chunk of goo :D
20170729_115120.jpg
Then I dig a little in one of the corners of the worm bin and drop it all in!
20170729_115403.jpg
And cover it back up..
20170729_115426.jpg
It doesn't look like there's many worms in here... But in a few days I'll show you how they will all have devoured most of food I just gave them. They're spread all around the bin now, since I haven't feed them in a while.

They eat so fast it's amazing, there's no better way of creating fertilizer than this!
I can't wait to show you all a side-by-side comparison with the same plants with and without worm poop :)

Have a nice day everyone, and don't forget to follow me @wooly!

Sort:  

I'm just amazed... :) wow.. really awesome. But does it smell? Do the worms stay or do they wandering around in your house? :) upvote from me. :)

Hey @steemfox86! It doens't smell if you don't overfeed it. The worms eat really fast, 2x times their own weight each day, when there's optimal conditions.
When I have the worms inside I put a light outside the box.. They'll never go out that way :) They can't stand light..

So Awsome.. i will try this.. how many liters do I need? How many worms do I need to start with?

This one is a cheap Ikea boxes at 45L, I think :p I've seen people online do really small ones under the sink! But it's much easier to manage with some size on it. More size = less managing. I tried a small one first, and the worms just wanted to escape. It was either too wet, too dry etc.
I bought 500 grams of worms. But you could probably start with less.. You should be able to find compost worms outside too, they seem to love horse dung.

Interesting! Do you pick then yourself? Or do you just buy some And then feed them to get more?

Do you only use them for plants?

Hello @brakan! I've not picked them myself... I bought dendroba and tiger worms on Ebay from yorkshireworms in England. They're not lob worms, but composting worms.
But I only bought once, if the bin has nice conditions, the population should double in like a month or two.
I've only used their poo for plants yeah, their poo is like black gold!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67421.43
ETH 3217.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66