Modern «rorbu» environment at Urangsvåg in BømlosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #norway5 years ago (edited)

After some comments after my article about boathouses environment at Bømlo yesterday I want to publish a blog with new boathouses. These houses are called with an old Norwegian expression of «rorbu». Explanation of this name can be found under this link.
https://nordnorge.com/no/?News=59&artlang=en

Modern «rorbuer» cottages are entirely different than the old fishermen's «rorbu» that have a thousand-year-old history and tradition.
The modern fishermen's cabins are built for holidays. Many people who do not live near the sea appreciate being able to spend holidays with boating and fishing starting from a «rorbu» cabin.
Such cabins are usually well equipped with functional kitchens, bathrooms and living rooms and several bedrooms.
Many of these cabins are rented out to tourists who want to experience boating and fishing. This is popular, and those who rent these «rorbu» cottages find that many return year after year to the same «rorbu» cottages.

The pictures show unlisted cabins from Urangsvåg in Bømlo.
Note that on many of the photos, a boat can be seen lying on the docks of these new boathouses.
Here you can see that the «rorbu» cabins are both large and contemporary.

Skjermbilde 2019-03-02 kl. 19.15.10.png

Skjermbilde 2019-03-02 kl. 19.15.28.png

Skjermbilde 2019-03-02 kl. 19.15.44.png

Skjermbilde 2019-03-02 kl. 19.15.56.png

Skjermbilde 2019-03-02 kl. 19.16.09.png

Skjermbilde 2019-03-02 kl. 19.16.22.png

Skjermbilde 2019-03-02 kl. 19.16.39.png

Skjermbilde 2019-03-02 kl. 19.16.56.png

Sort:  

Beauty. I've never seen a house like this. I should have gone to Norway :-)
Thank you for showing us such a bright pictures, dear @Siggjo.

Reading your posts every time I learn something new for myself!

It was your comment about the unusual name of these boathouses that inspired me to write more elaborate about "rorbuene" @Singa
In Norway, people say that a picture can often tell more than a thousand words.
Then I thought that some photos could help illustrate how these modern "rorbuene" look and how they can be used.

I appreciate that. Thank you!

Thanks for resteem the post: Modern «rorbu» environment at Urangsvåg in Bømlo
@Singa

Very cozy village. I like that people are not afraid to make their houses bright. So far I have built only the basement, the foundation and the first floor of my house, but I hope that if it comes to plaster and roof, I will use the experience from Norway. I build my house of natural stone, it is expensive)). Thanks for the detailed description and beautiful pictures. This is the place where I want to be! I already dream of Norway))

It's interesting to hear about building your house @Barski
House of natural stone I found beautiful. Such natural stone houses are also costly in Norway.
It is nice to hear that you are dreaming of Norway when you see the photos.

Here are a few photos of my construction, white stone, this is limestone, it is a good heat insulator. Stone is mined in the mines.

DSC06330.JPG

For three years I was able to raise so much. In Moldova, a seismically active zone, I built taking into account seismic.

DSC07055.JPG

View of the hills from the window of my house, the future house. In the photo is my first day of construction.

The builders joked that I was building the Fuhrer's stakes bunker, the foundation was too strong, but I believe that the foundation is a guarantee of reliability.

DSC05305.JPG

Many thanks for the pictures of the foundation of your house @Barski
Do you build the foundation yourself?
Then you have done a great job.
It looks like to be a big house.

I myself calculated everything, according to my calculations, the designer made the project at home. I myself counted all the materials and bought, hired heavy machinery, but for construction work I hired people from the village. I used to work as a foreman at the construction of gas pipelines, this experience came in handy for me. The human factor is the most embarrassing moment during the construction)) Many times they let me down and tried to deceive me during the construction. Construction stopped when I fired all. And then, the wind direction changed and the building receded into the background. They say that you can watch the fire forever. On the construction of the same, I can talk forever))) I got carried away.

still have to visit Norway once in my life

It is nice to hear that you write that you want to visit Norway @ Johan.forexus
Perhaps it is the pictures that evoke such a desire?

nice boathouse.
the beautiful photos @siggjo

I appreciate hearing that you value the pictures of the boathouses @ Love-peace
I also think that the environment with the sea and boats makes this a beautiful place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99