"Cultural appropriation" madness has reached Norway. The finance minister dressed up as an Indian.

in #norway7 years ago (edited)

Oh my God. What does that even mean? Sure, I can actually to a certain extent discuss the inappropriate..edness? of a finance minister dressing up as an Indian. I mean, dressing up as Ugongo Bongo from Africa with a banana-skirt and a huge bone through your nose would be a little bit inappropriate wouldn't it? Or what about an eskimo? Put on a all leather seal-dress, and drag a canoe through the party. We usually don't put other cultures traditional clothes and make fun of them.

Skjermbilde 2017-10-15 kl. 08.05.27.png

But on the other hand, people are "allowed" to for instance dress up like Vikings. Shouldn't I be allowed to feel very upset and write butthurt articles about how offensive your Viking-outfit is to my heritage? My great great great great great great great great great great great great father was most likely A viking. I've tracked my family back some 500 years, and they pretty much lived in the same house for that time. Some "crazy" explorer of a great uncle settled down a couple of miles further north.

But I'm not butt hurt. In my mind, when someone from Africa or Brazil or China puts on a Viking costume I think it's cool that they know about my culture and think it's sort of cool. Why would my first thought be "they're making fun of it!!"

I'm sure some social justice warriors are thinking; "Sure, she's not making fun of Indians. It's not about that. It's about respecting cultures..blablabla"

These people are the same people that doesn't want white people to wear dreadlocks or rap, or even listen to HipHop.

Well, do you know what? Sure. I can go along with that. But then I also have a list for things I want you to stop doing, because it is f****g offensive to me as a white modern person.

  • Stop using the Internet. It's a white invention.
  • Stop using Cars, motorcycles and hooverboards.
  • Actually, stop using bikes as well
  • Stop using all types of technology, automation, cellphones, rubber, plastic.
  • Stop using electricity!
  • Stop written language
  • Don't travel with airplanes. Don't even travel with a horse and carriage. You must walk or run.
  • Don't use ovens, heaters, showers. Make your home from mud or shit. Don't even use wooden panels or bricks.

Deal?

OR, stop being a victimized f**** retard who is offended for every little goddamn thing. Almost every ethnic group were doing better in the 50s and 60s, when there were actual racism. Today almost no one are racist, and yet you are bitching and crying more than ever. How is that working out? Pretty bad aye?

Appp app! Stop righ there. Don't speak. Just..app appp appp! Shhhhhhhh.

This is about as serious as this retarded discussion can get. It's basically a non-topic and retardedness on a whole nuttah level.

I was wondering when "progressive" norwegian social justice warriors would finally discover cultural appropriation. Personally I've been knowing about it for years. But the funny thing about social justice warriors is that they are so incredibly slow.

But now it has officially arrived in Norway as well. Congratulations. And it is now a "debate" in the main stream media. I'm still going to listen to gangster rap, eat chinese food and say; "I rike a food a velly a much a" to my wife before eating. I'm still going to make use of and fun of all cultures including my own. I'm proud of my heritage and culture, but I also see it's flaws and wrongdoings. I don't care if others make fun of it. I'm not offended. And I will not be terrorized by these morons. I will joke about other cultures while at the same time respecting them. Some cultures I don't even respect OR like. Deal with it!

 
 

Odin approves of this message.png

Sort:  

Respect man :)

Culture is developing :)

Keep laughing

Culture is developing. But values should stay strong :)

Wonderful post.

This Post was resteemed by @resteemitnow

|| POST RESTEEMED + UPVOTED ||

Want to Boost your Posts?

Introduction Post Read here

Just send 0.030 SBD NOW

You have epic rants and i fucking love it!!!

Haha. Thanks! I had a ruff morning! Instead of taking it out on my family, I took it out on social justice warriors and made some money from it!

No harm, no foul!!!

Hey, my step-mother in-law is chillin' in Bergen right now. Hopefully will get my white ass on over there in the next couple years...
Keep on posting and roasting!!!

Cheers! from @thedamus
✨⚡️✨🤘😎✨⚡️✨

Great post... Again another non issue that media and govt wants people divided and infighting about. It's unfortunate though alot of people are taking the bait. The powers that be push this divisiveness to create the victim mentality and divide so we all won't unite and go after the real issues that affect everyone.

In the Netherlands we force all refugees who want to cross the border to eat waffles and wear wooden clogs, no problem if you step on some toes

Haha. You SHOULD do that :D But I know for a fact that you don't. You send out your women and children to welcome them with "welcome refugees" signs :)

Brilliant!

I would greatly appreciate it if we could show more appropriation to the Viking culture. If we could only live as they many of todays issues would be rather trivial!

The good news is that picture will be on the interwebs forever!!

Well you are a disgrace to the vikings. I see in your picture two horns on the helmet. That's not historical accurate. They out to make a law about that and put you in prison. No I'm just kidding. Hope I didn't bring anyone another idea though.

Sometimes I wonder where it's all going.
What I notice though is that through the mainstream media these small groups get a lot of exposure, the more exposure the more power they get for all these non issues.

Haha. True. But is it really cultural appropriation if you appropriate it wrong?

That these small groups get a lot of exposure is not something new. Read about the rebellion of Berkely in the 60s. EXACTLY the same as now. A small group of retards who made hell. You can read about it in Ayn Rand's " return of the primitive. Great book.

But is it really cultural appropriation if you appropriate it wrong?

It was just a random joke. which has nothing to do with appropriation, but maybe a new sort of subject over which people could start whining ;)

I know that this type of social engineering thing is going on for a long time.

Thanks for the book tip :)

Divide and conquer

Indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60777.49
ETH 2913.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59