MUSIC THOUGHTS - Part 8 - Type O Negative, Peter SteelesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #norway6 years ago (edited)


Music Thoughts Part 8

It has been weeks since the last blog and the reason for that is, I've been quite busy with other stuff related to Steemit. Like helping @ramta with voting ect. Not to go to deep into details there. It has been a pretty busy 2 weeks for me. Hopfully I get some more time to write here soon! Stay tuned!

So I decided to make a Music Thoughts! This time around is more focused on one single artist rather than many. His name is Peter Steele and his band is Type O Negative. Peter Steele died quite young because of problems with his health.

I have not made any Music Thoughts lately but that does not change the fact that I still Love music! We are moving bandpractice location as well so more music from me in the future!

DQmbrM4NAWJWMmktNQWAeQCPRyffY4qqdiZzBXs8cH25jvE_1680x8400.png

linje.png

Type O Negative


Type O Negative was an American Gothic Metal / Doom Metal band from Brooklyn, New York, established in 1989. Steele, along with childhood friends Sal Abruscato, Josh Silver and Kenny Hickey, formed Type O Negative and signed to Roadrunner Records in 1991. Steele said that Black Sabbath and The Beatles were the main influences

Other influences are psychedelic rock bands Pink Floyd and the Doors and some other heavy metal bands. Type O Negative has quickly become one of my favorite bands, the more I listing and reading about Type O Negative and Peter Steele I like them more and more! Give it a Try, it is quite somthing to learn to like. Here is one song from Type O Negative, more later in the post! Enjoy!

Type O Negative - Black No. 1

linje.png

Peter Steele

7JyXBMJ.jpg

Personal Life

Steele was known to be quite tall, standing at 203 cm tall, giving him a menacing stage appearance. Steele admitted to be suffering from stage fright which he overcame by drinking alcohol before and during shows. He was also described as a person who was "friendly, funny and had a reputation for being generous to his longtime bandmates and kind to the bands he toured with.

Outside of music, Steele spent time lifting weights both at home and on his tour bus. Steele also enjoyed reading books on the subject of science and he had an interest in European culture.

Steele stated in a 2003 interview that he was bipolar, and linked his mood swings to the types of songs he wrote. He also suffered from clinical depression for which he had received occasional psychiatric treatment. During a 2007 interview Steele explained:

"I've always been a very depressed person, but that's only one side of me, you know. It makes me feel better when I can express my depression, my anger, my frustration through music... sonic therapy."

linje.png

Death

April 14, 2010, Peter Steele died of a heart attack. A few months later, the rest of the band decided to split because they did not see any reason in continuing without him. They said in an intervew that: "Even if there is somebody who could take his place it wouldn't matter. We don't have any interest in continuing. It's impossible – it hasn't even come up in any kind of discussion. When Peter died, Type O Negative died with him."

That Is somthing I found quite sad. I wich I knew Peter Steele.

a1f0331032abcb9be0cedfed33eb4385.jpeg

linje.png

Some more music from Peter Steele and Type O Negative

Type O Negative - Christian Woman

linje.png

Type O Negative - Love You To Death

linje.png

Type O Negative - My Girlfriend's Girlfriend

linje.png

Type O Negative - Everything Dies

linje.png

Full Albums

♥Type O Negative - October Rust♥
♦Type O Negative - Bloody Kisses♦
♣Type O Negative - Dead Again♣
♠Type O Negative - World Coming Down♠
☻Type O Negative - Life Is Killing Me☻

linje.png

I am really sorry for not beeing so active when it comes to writing blogs lately, I will try to change that! Hope you enjoy Type O Negative as much as I do! Have a nice weekend my friends!

Don't do like I am planing to do with my weekend.
Its best to drink in moderation.

a90d86c421d8338cc9d02436746dc9d8--beer-snob-beer-quotes.jpg

@mrkrille

linje.png

Sort:  

Funny @Mrkrille I have actually heard a lot of Type O negative before but not knowing it was this band. So thanks for hig lightning this for me.

bukk.jpg


Kindest regards
@Gyldenhorn

Hehe, no problem, glad to hear that. Thats the reason I make these! We need to have an evening with some good music and alcohol consumption soon!
Thanks for the comment @gyldenhorn!

1313714621002.png

@mrkrille

index.png

Keep up the great posts, I always come across some new interesting artists or get reminded of someone I haven't heard in ages. Actually not familiar with type O negative, so will have to take some time off to check it out.

Thanks for the kind comment @k3nb0b.
It makes me really happy to hear that my friend!
Now that it has been some days since you commented, what do you think of Type O Negative?



@mrkrille

Been a lot going on both on and off steemit, so haven't had much time on my hands. Taking a sickday today, so I have some time, thanks for the reminder :) sounds pretty good so far, will have it playing in the backround while I do some busywork here :) There are some weird intro's, but theyr'e really good.

Will absolutely get onto my playlist

Yeah, I know! You have been busy lately. Nice to see that Steemit is something for you! Everybody deserves a break from time to time.

Agree on weird intros but it kind of adds to the song.
Cool that you liked it!

giphy.gif

linje.png

@mrkrille

linje.png

Absolutely. though it is a lot of work, it doesn't feel like it, just takes up a lot of my time, I'm loving steemit and will probably invest another little chunk to support this community because of posts like your's. Just too bad I have other responsibilities. Hopefully the day comes when steemit is the fulltime job. And yeah, the intro's absolutely adds to the charm.

Just keep doing what you do!
Power Up!

power up.jpg

@mrkrille

linje.png

that's great.

Thanks!
You are great!

fist-160957_960_720.png

linje.png

@mrkrille

linje.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16