Arctic hobby; Build your own touring skis for the powpow days.

in #norway6 years ago

I'm waiting to go on my trip, and when leaving I miss out of the best period of the year for randonné and skitouring in Norway. This season or the next one; great skis are the key for the winter fun. I was privileged to be able to build my own skis via Tromsø-based company "Twist'em skis", (https://www.twistemskis.no/) allowing you to design and build your very own skis bottom up from the first wood piece. Exciting to go skitouring on your very own unique pair of skis, crafted by yourself! Yey!


designing the finish pattern for my skis


I had the idea using the tools they use for quilting, and cut the fine wood to fit


tideous work, but totally worth it


steel edges for the non-powder days


wood core for the best balanced stiffness and flex, and sole


all the layers glued and vacuoed for the night


it's like the best christmas morning gift opening!


ready to be cut and shaped...already falling in love with theese


...I'll leave it to the pro..


Front rocker tip shaping to float atop the powder snow


sanding and oil polish..


now it's just mounting the bindings and I'm all set


needless to say I'm super excited about my new danceshoes...

For my dancefloor:


rock and roll flow pow!

Now I just can't wait till next season already!

Would you like to build your own ski? Higly recommended, and I know there are entrepreneurs around the world who let you take part in the process. If not, come to Norway and "Twist'em skis" helps you out. :-)
https://www.twistemskis.no/

With best wishes of perfect winter skiing conditions wherever you are and if you like winter, or just would love to try it out sometime. =)

/Linn Elise

Sort:  

Så utrolig kult! Håper de er en drøm å kjøre på! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29