Today, October 10 2017, would have been Fridtjof Nansen’s 156th birthday!

in #norway7 years ago (edited)

source

Screen Shot 2017-10-10 at 16.00.01.png
Fridtjof Nansen (10 October 1861 – 13 May 1930) was really a giant of a man, and it is beyond the scope of this post to cover his whole life story.

Very shortly, he is best known for being an artic explorer by being the first to cross Greenland, and later the Fram expedition to the North Pole.

He was also a humanitarian, exemplified by the Nansen passport, which allowed refugees to cross borders legally after the WWI had ended. Nansen was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts for refugees in 1922.
From 1925 onwards he spent much time trying to help Armenian refugees, victims of the Armenian Genocide at the hands of the Ottoman Empire.

What perhaps not many people know is that Nansen was also one of the world’s leading neuroscientists and was one of the first to propose the neuron-theory of neuroscience, and he correctly predicted the existence of the synapse.
However, Nansen quit neuroscience after his dissertation.
Others were inspired by his work, and the Spanish neuroscientist Ramòn y Cajal went on to receive the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1906.
In honor of his contribution to the field of neuroscience, Nansen Neuroscience Network was created Nansen Neuroscience Network.

An interesting fact about Nansen’s personality as that he was always proactive and went forward. As one example he left to Greenland before he even knew if he had passed his doctorate defence.

So, I must say that I am really proud of being from Norway: The country of the famous Fridtjof Nansen.

For more information, Wikipedia has a pretty good article about him wikipedia.

Thank you for your time and attention. Steem on!

Follow me: @janusface

Sort:  

first time i hear of the guy, i must say he looks pretty bad ass

Yes, indeed. I have now posted a picture of him. But I must confess google reminded me that it was his birthday:)

Yep, he looks like the kind of guy you don't want to mess with ^^ This being said, what he did was just so great!

He has a special place in the heart of Armenians for his sympathy and efforts for the displaced Armenians as a result of the Armenian Genocide. Bless him.

Yes, he was truly a kind person:)

@janusface - Oh Sir, I never heard about him before. I thin it's a big mistake, why I didn't know about him before.... Yes Sir you need to be glad to be a Norwegian..... Nice you decided to share this valuable information Sir... <3

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

I had never heard of such a great personality before.
The best thing to share in life is knowledge and you my friend have done a great job here @janusface

I never hear about him before!
Thanks for sharing..
Upvoted For Great Content..
Keep the good work..

He sounds like a remarkable man!! And I must admit that I find this intimidating look quite attractive.

Nansen is often held as an example by the left why we should have mindless immigration. What they fail to recognize is that nansen would never have wanted that. He was quite nationalistic. But contrary to popular mainstream beliefs being nationalist is not the same as not having compassion or moral values. What nansen had and the modern leftists dont have is reasonable rationalism and pragmatism.

Nansen is without a doubt the greatest norwegian ever, and the biggest viking of them all.

For those who did not know, nansen and sverdrup had to spend the winter alone close to the north pole in a stone hut they built themselves. Surviving on seal they stayed there for 6 months. Just a different breed.

Yes, indeed. He was nationalistic. Also, he wanted to get the refugees back to their homelands so they could rebuild them.
I have contemplated a lot about how an extreme guy like Nansen had become if he grew up in Norway today.
Nansen was a man of honour, purpose and virtue: I do not think he would have thrived that much in today's Norway.

Nope. If he came back to life, he would have been a very confused old man.

It is just because of your post that I have known about him. Thanx for sharing this article.

Thanks for reading:)

I will try my best to have your attention towards my posts.

Before reading this post, for me, Norway was famous for the fjords and the landscape. Now, you've added a very learned and true humanitarian in that list. Good job @janusface. It's my first comment on one of your posts. I'm glad that I started following your posts.

I noticed that your personality type is INTP. So, you're a logician. Cool. I'm IXTP. It's pleasure connecting with you here at Steemit.

Hope to read more interesting posts from your end. Keep sharing, caring and informing. Stay awesome.

Steem On!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75