Is There A Link Between Psychopathy And Creativity?

in #norway7 years ago (edited)

I have always been very creative and able to think outside the box.

According to the latest research there is a link between psychopathy and creativeness:

Galang et al. Personality and Individual Differences 2016 in a study that involved 503 participants, who were surveyed in order to detect traits of narcissism, psychopathy and Machiavellianism:

We find that emotional disinhibition, in the form of psychopathic boldness, is integral to some creative personalities and functionally related to the creative process.” Galang et al, PID 2016

Just a little reminder for my readers. If I write about something it is always because I had a hypothesis first.
Often, I accidentally (or perhaps my subconsciousness helps me) find studies in line with my hypotheses.
I always taught there was a link between psychopathy and creativity, but as in this post I use a study to validate my point.

One important psychopathic trait:
  • A disregard for laws and social norms

If you want a more thorough post about psychopathy and traits, I wrote a post some time ago What Is The Difference Between a Psychopath And a Sociopath?

✒ Creativity involves divergent thinking, where you form a wide range of thoughts instead of the tried and tested, i.e. thinking outside the box.

✒ The creative person, like the psychopath, is less emotionally inhibited (disinhibited) than others by social conventions. Psychopaths love to break social rules.

✒ Creativity also involves a kind of brain storming where you get new ideas, and you have to love taking risks.
As we all know, psychopaths love the risky.

Picasso is one of the most important painter through all time had several psychopathic traits, and he broke the rules of art when he went cubist.

Pablo Picasso, 1939 Tête de femme au chapeau bleu à ruban rouge

source

As a creative individual I am always looking for news solutions, to cut corners and to change the current paradigm.

Alas, Norway is among the countries with the strictest social norms, along with Pakistan, India, Malaysia and South Korea NHH.

You have the Scandinavian implicit code of conduct known as the Law of Jante (named for a small Danish town in a novel):

  1. You're not to think you are anything special.
  2. You're not to think you are as good as us.
  3. You're not to think you are smarter than us.
  4. You're not to convince yourself that you are better than us.
  5. You're not to think you know more than us.
  6. You're not to think you are more important than us.
  7. You're not to think you are good at anything.
  8. You're not to laugh at us.
  9. You're not to think anyone cares about you.
  10. You're not to think you can teach us anything.
    Wikipedia

As you can imagine: Norway is not a great country for a creative person!

Thus, my creativity has just been a personal burden for me so far.

On one hand it is difficult to use your creativity here because the current mantra is : That’s the way we do it here. End of discussion!

Also, I get extremely bored with doing things the normal way (which are cumbersome by default).

Even though I am creative, I do not consider myself a psychopath.
Thus, I do not think that all creative people are psychopaths, but I am pretty sure that most psychopaths are creative.

I am also kind of sceptical to the word ‘psychopath’, because of all the false mental images associated with it. People with psychopathic tendencies are important leaders in every field imaginable; they rule the world. So if normal people just think psychopaths are rapist and killers, they kind of missed the point.

Are you creative?

Have you managed to utilise the power of your creativity?

Thank you for your time and attention. Steem on!

U5dsiK9dDnSdqJgM686MkfG1kTEKJVe.gif

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67685.77
ETH 3856.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69