10 Important Mobility & Flexibility Exercises

in #norway7 years ago

These drills are excellent to use for warm up before training, as morning mobility or days in between your other training sessions.

Mobility & flexibility are two of the most skipped part of fitness. I have been guilty of this myself many years ago to the point where I felt stiff and could not squat properly or extend my arms over my head without arching my back. Was just going to the gym lifting weights and left when I was finished. At the time I just didn't understand that if you only do the strength part it's most likely going to cause you problems in the future.

Started using some mobility drills for warming up and immediately saw it had an effect on mobility and also made me feel better in general. At first I did some mobility drills only for warming up and it helped a lot. After a while I added them into my morning routine(https://steemit.com/norway/@healthpac/6-morning-rituals-that-will-help-you-win-the-day) to get even more volume. When you start to do this you will find that some positions are difficult to get in to or you can't do at all. But when you have been doing it for a while you start to experience new ranges of motion and new things you can do with your body. If you have aches or pain somewhere they often resolve themselves. Pluss points if you are doing them outside with bare feet in the sun.

Exercises in this video:

Cat-cow
Archer squat/ Cossack squat
Spiderman lunge (with reach) I usually combine this with with downward/ upward dog
Squat (with reach)
Jefferson curl
Passive and active hanging shoulder circles
Back bridge
Pigeon stretch
Log roll

This is a combination of gymnastics drills, yoga and are all excellent.

So what is the difference between the mobility & flexibility: "Flexibility can be passive, whereas mobility requires that you demonstrate strength throughout the entire range of motion, including end ranges" Christopher Summers ( world class gymnastics coach)

Thanks for reading

Be healthy, peace out!

Sort:  

Wow!

Glad you like it sir :)

Dropped a follow ;)

Wah .. very good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65