You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Normie Talk - HF21 Explained (SPS + EIP) What it is and what happens next

in #normietalk5 years ago

Why does ... have to get bundled up

Many of us agree with the concept of not bundling in the abstract. There is also the practical consideration of costs of hard forks and not being able to do them very often.

The merits of EIP are discussed elsewhere including by me so I won't rehash that here.

Sort:  

Meh I think the "cost of hard fork" argument is a cop out. In the first year of Steem there were... 17 hard forks? And since then there have been 3? There is no good reason to bundle the economic incentives with the DAO, with the exception of the obvious reason that the economic incentives have much weaker support than the DAO and might not actually be approved on their own. Which to me, is the primary argument for why it shouldn't be bundled. A bunch of half-baked measures with a net effect that is hard to predict (some claim - I don't think it is hard to predict personally, I think it is a loss for all users except the very largest users and bid bot owners) shouldn't be slipped through on the back of something with wide support.

During most of those 17 hard forks (not sure if that is the exact right number, but there were definitely a lot, mostly in the first few months) there were almost no users, no third party apps, either none or one exchange, etc. The situation is completely different now.

I think we need some kind of a forum for these kind of discussions, chat rooms and posts that get buried after a week won't cut it anymore.

Yes as smooth said, there is a forum that has been started. You can find it here - https://neosteem.com/topic-list?category=hf21

I think @thecryptodrive is trying to promote a forum for Steem development discussions. I don't recall the link for it.

@prisminside @smooth, yes that's the idea behind the forum. I am collating what I can from internal discussions to help make them more public, included some timelines and testnet info etc, the link is this https://neosteem.com/topic-list?category=hf21 (sorry it has some bugs on mobile, should be fixed in the coming days)

Good to know, I'll use that in future when people ask where these changes are being discussed since right now, it seems these changes were made without any community input for a bit too many people, I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64308.31
ETH 2810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65